CIAA Announces 2014 Preseason Football Honors

Updated: August 18, 2014

Durham, NC  – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA®) held its 2014 Football Media Day in Durham, NC.  Representatives from all 12 conference teams gathered at the Durham Convention Center to help kickoff the 2014 season.

Stan Lewter (CIAA TV) served as Master of Ceremonies for a program that included interviews with coaches and student-athletes along with the announcement of the predicted order of finish and preseason all-conference team.

Winston-Salem State was picked to finish first in the Southern Division as well as first overall. Following WSSU in the predicted order of finish were 2-Fayetteville State University, 3- Virginia State University, 4-Shaw  University, 5-Elizabeth City State University, 6-Bowie State University, 7-Johnson C. Smith University, 8-Chowan University, 9-Saint Augustine’s  University, 10-Virginia Union University, 11-Livingstone College and 12-The Lincoln University.

Two new coaches were welcomed to the conference. Mark James of Virginia Union and Kienus Boulware from Winston-Salem State will make their CIAA head coaching debuts this fall.

With the announcement of the Preseason All-CIAA Team, fans were able to identify  players to watch during the upcoming season.  Winston-Salem State led the field with seven players selected followed by Bowie State and Virginia State with four each.

The CIAA also announced a three-game syndicated television package for the upcoming football season.  In conjunction with Urban Sports and Entertainment Group, the first game scheduled to be televised is Winston-Salem State’s homecoming against St. Augustine’s on October 18 followed by Virginia Union hosting Virginia State on November 8.  The CIAA Championship Game closes out the football television schedule on November 15 at Durham County Stadium.

2014 Predicted Order of Finish

1.    Winston-Salem State 2.    Fayetteville State 3.    Virginia State 4.    Shaw 5.    Elizabeth City State 6.    Bowie State 7.    Johnson C. Smith 8.    Chowan 9.    Saint Augustine’s 10.    Virginia Union 11.    Livingstone 12.    Lincoln

Southern Division

1.    Winston-Salem State 2.    Fayetteville State 3.    Shaw 4.    Johnson C. Smith 5.    Saint Augustine’s 6.    Livingstone

Northern Division

1.    Virginia State 2.    Elizabeth City State 3.    Bowie State 4.    Chowan 5.    Virginia Union 6.    Lincoln

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *