SWAC Releases 2013-2014 Preseason Men’s Basketball Honors

Updated: October 23, 2013

By SWAC Media Relations

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – Texas Southern University was picked to win the 2013-14 Southwestern Athletic Conference men’s basketball title in a preseason poll of the league’s head coaches and sports information directors.

The announcement was made by the SWAC during its annual media teleconference on Wednesday, October 16.
The Tigers, last year’s SWAC regular season champions, earned 171 points, including 10 first-place votes, while Southern was selected to finish second accumulating 167 points and nine first-place votes. Arkansas-Pine Bluff picked up 132 points for a predicted third-place finish followed by Prairie View with 118 points to tally fourth.
Rounding out the poll includes: Jackson State (99 points), Alabama A&M (95 points – two first-place vote), Alabama State (93 points), Alcorn State (70 points), Mississippi Valley State (65 points) and Grambling State (34 points).
2013-14 All-SWAC Preseason Men’s Basketball Team

The 2013-14 All-SWAC preseason first and second teams are highlighted by senior guard Malcolm Miller (Southern) and senior center Jules Montgomery (prairei View A&M). Miller was selected as the SWAC Preseason Player of the Year with Montgomery garnering the SWAC Preseason Defensive Player of the Year honor.
Miller averaged 15.8 points per game and was named to the 2013 All SWAC First Team at the end of last season. In addition to leading the team in three pointers made (184), he also helped the Jaguars capture the 2013 SWAC Tournament Championship.
Montgomery helped guide Prairie View A&M to the 2013 SWAC Tournament final last year and returns as the team’s leading scorer with 8.0 points per game.  He also went on to finish seventh in the conference in blocked shots per contest whileleading the Panthers in rebounds with 210 (6.2 avg).
Additionally, Miller was selected to the All-SWAC Preseason first team while Montgomery received second team honors.
Rounding out the squad list is guard, Ray Penn (Texas Southern), forwards Demarquelle Tabb (Alabama A&M), and Davon Hayes (Arkansas-Pine Bluff) along with center Daniel Broughton (Arkansas-Pine Bluff).
The second team includes: guards Terry Rose (Grambling State) and LeAntwan Luckett (Alcorn State), forward Javan Mitchell (Southern) with Aaron Clayborn (Texas Southern) closing the selection at the center position.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *