Updated: October 17, 2013

ATLANTA — The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) announced its Preseason All Conference Team and Predicted Order of Finish for the 2013-14 season, as voted by the SIAC Men’s Basketball Coaches Association. 

Two-Time defending SIAC Basketball Champion Benedict College was predicted to repeat as champions of the SIAC East Division and Overall in the Conference. 
Although veteran coach Fred Watson will replace all five starters from last season’s team, the Tigers expect to reload with a nucleus of new players that are expected to make an immediate impact. 
Most specifically, sophomore guard Brennan Reynard, who was the Tigers sixth man last season. Reynard, a native of Slidell, LA, was selected to the Preseason All-SIAC team.
SIAC East Division Co-Champions, Morehouse College was picked to finish second in the East Division. The Maroon Tigers will be led by the reigning SIAC Newcomer of the Year Darrius Williams and junior combo guard Austin Anderson. 
Both players were named to the All-SIAC Preseason Team. Paine College, who will return four starters, was picked to finish third and was followed by Fort Valley State University, predicted to finish fourth in the Division. 
The Wildcats will be led by three time All-SIAC forward Brandon Davey, who was tabbed SIAC Preseason Player of the Year. Albany State University, Claflin University, and Clark Atlanta University, round out the rest of the SIAC East Division Predicted Order of Finish.
For the second year in a row, Stillman was selected voted as the top team in the West Division. 
The Tigers return four starters from last season and will be led by senior Preseason All-SIAC selection guard Jeffrey Wherry. Tuskegee, who will replace two starters, were picked to finish second. 
The Golden Tigers will be led by guard Javier McKinney, who was named to the All-SIAC team. Kentucky State University, led by Preseason All-SIAC guard Ulyssess Thomas III, was picked to finish third, while LeMoyne-Owen College, Lane College and Miles College finish the rest of the list in the West Division.
Davey, who was unanimously selected as the 2013-2014 SIAC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year, finished second in the SIAC in scoring last season averaging 16.3 points per game. He also is a three-time All-SIAC selection.
2013-2014 SIAC Men’s Predicted Order of Finish
East Division
1. Benedict
2. Morehouse
3. Paine
4. Fort Valley State
5. Albany State
6. Claflin
7. Clark Atlanta
West Division
1. Stillman
2. Tuskegee
3. Kentucky State
4. LeMoyne-Owen
5. Lane
6. Miles
Overall Champion: Benedict.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *