By Eric D. Graham BASN columnist
Updated: August 30, 2012

NORTH CAROLINA (BASN)–1. In 1966, Texas Western starts five black players, an NCAA first in a title game and defeated the No.1 Kentucky Wildcats.

2. In 2006, the New Orleans Saints, won Super Bowl XLIV against the Indianapolis Colts after the devastation of Hurricane Katrina.

3. In 1976, the Indiana Hoosiers went 32-0 and won the national championship by defeating the Michigan Wolverines.

4. In 1979, the Seattle SuperSonics won the NBA Championship in five games against the Washington Bullets.

5. In 1972, the Miami Dolphins completed the only perfect season in NFL history by defeating the Washington Redskins 14-7 in Super Bowl II.

6. In 1997, Florida routed the Florida State Seminoles 52-20 to win the national championship in the Sugar Bowl.

7. In 1988, Danny Manning and the Miracles won the NCAA tournament against the Oklahoma Sooners.

8. In 1997, the Arizona Wildcats knocked off three No.1 seeds en route to win the NCAA title.

9. In 1983, NC State Wolf pack defeated the heavily-favored Houston Rockets on a last second put in by Lorenzo Charles.

10. In 1990, the UNLV Runnin’ Rebels won the NCAA basketball title against the Duke Blue Devils 103 t0 73.