NBA and Free Agent Championship

By Gary Norris Gray BASN Staff Reporter
Updated: June 25, 2012

Gary Norris Gray BASN Staff Reporter

Does Free Agency Work?

Does Free Agency Work?

OAKLAND, CA (BASN)—NBA Championships after trades.


There is a long list of historical trades in the NBA that have led to Championships. LeBron James, and Chris Bosh changed the game forever by signing as free agents with the Miami Heat and winning the championship.


In 2009-2010 LeBron James played for the Cleveland Cavaliers six years carrying this underachieving team to the playoffs losing three times in the conference finals and then losing in the Championship round. Sports fans outside of Cleveland still cannot name the starting five other than LeBron James. Owner, Dan Gilbert tried to win a championship on the cheap, it did not work. One year, Gilbert signed free agent Shaquille O’Neal, which did not work either. James could see the writing on the wall after the Eastern Conference Championship Series against the Boston Celtics. The Cavs would never win an NBA title under the ownership of Gilbert and he wanted out.


Next question what place have the Cleveland Cavaliers landed the past two years? That’s right, LAST PLACE. With Gilbert eating his words that the Cleveland Cavaliers would win the NBA title before LeBron, Right!!!!


Center Chris Bosh played for the Toronto Raptors seven years and was their leading scorer. Bosh played out of position the first two years because of injuries to other players. The Raptors found it difficult to get to the playoffs which they finally achieved the last two years with Bosh. Toronto went through its third overhaul in 2008-2009 season with multiple trades. Confusion reigned on the floor for the whole season and Chris Bosh wanted out.


Dwayne Wade one of the last reminisces of the championship team needed a dynamic scorer by his side to transcend Miami to the next level again.


The Heat won their first Championship in 2005-2006 with free agents and “The Big Diesel”, Shaquille O’Neal. This championship proved all the more poignant for Miami’s veteran superstars Alonzo Mourning returning to Miami in 2005 , “The Glove” Gary Payton from Boston to Miami 2005, Jason Williams from Memphis to Miami 2005, and Antoine Walker from Boston to Miami in 2005, this group never won an NBA championship except O’Neal. Many fans did not like this team and so-called experts stated that they could never play together… sound familiar?


In 2009 the Heat lacked the knockout punch needed to be Champions. All of that changed when James and Bosh put on Heat uniforms in 2010 and repeated the 2005 championship team.


James, Wade, and Bosh broke the mold and that is why most fans, owners, and coaches are upset. The hour long ESPN “Decision” did not help. The introduction show on stage in Miami did not help either. They created a super team via free agency and this upset the basketball apple cart. Things were not going according to general managers and owners plains. The players were running the show and that spelled danger to the rest of the league.


NOTE: – it would have never happened if the Raptors and Heat organizations did not agree to the terms.


This has been done many times before without fanfare or hoopla. This time The difference was the players formed their own deal. They created a basketball super power via free agency.


Here are the players that have been traded and within three years won a championship

Wilt Chamberlin from Philadelphia 76ers to Los Angeles Lakers 1968. The Big Dipper guided the Purple and Gold to a 33 game winning streak and a Championship on one of the best teams ever.

Oscar Robertson traded from the Cincinnati Royals to the Milwaukee Bucks 1970-71. Milwaukee wins the championship a year later with Bobby Dandridge and Lou Alcindor. The Bucks won 60 games in the 1972 season and played in three Championship series.


Earl “The Pearl” Monroe traded from the Baltimore Bullets to the New York Knicks in 1973.Many thought superstars Walt Frazier and Earl Monroe could not co-exist in the same back court; they did and made one of the most prolific scoring back courts in modern basketball history.

Robert Parish from the Golden State Warriors to the Boston Celtics 1980. “The Chief”, the quiet leader completed the roster for the green and white with a monster defender in the middle. The Chief guided them to many more runs at the NBA title.

Lou Alcindor-Kareem Abdul Jabbar from the Milwaukee Bucks to the Los Angeles Lakers -1978. The Lakers needed a big man in the middle and number 33 was the answer. This trade rekindled the old Boston Celtic-Los Ang. Laker rivalry throughout the 1980’s.


Moses Malone from the Houston Rockets to the Philadelphia 76ers 1982 with the famous foe, foe, foe. “Dr. J”, Julius Ervin finally receives his first championship. One of the greatest Philadelphia teams in history finally gets a trophy after losing to the Bill Walton Portland Trailblazers 1977-78. Ervin proclaimed, “We owe you one” and then loss to guard Earvin ‘Magic’ Johnson 1979-80 who played center in game seven because Kareem Abdul Jabbar was injured in game six. That would all change in 1981-82 season.

Dennis Rodman from San Antonio Spurs to the Chicago Bulls 1995. The Bulls went through their 2nd 3-Peat Championship with the rebounding machine called Rodman.


Shaquille O’Neal did it twice from the Orlando Magic to the Los Angeles Lakers 1994 and then from Lakers to the Miami Heat in 2004. The Big man was a part of the first 3 peat West Coast style.


Robert Horry could be called the luckiest man in the basketball world. He played for the Houston Rockets 1992-1996 winning back to back championships. Then was traded to the Phoenix Suns in 1996 but could not get along with head coach Danny Ainge. Horry would get lucky and move on to the high flying Los Angeles Lakers where he began to acquire the reputation of being Mr. Clutch, hitting key shots for Laker victories and two more championships. He would be traded one last time in 2003 to the San Antonio Spurs. The Spurs cut his playing time and it seemed to rejuvenate Horry as the Spurs won two Championships for a total of seven titles.


Ray Allen and Kevin Garnett from the Seattle Supersonics and the Minnesota Timberwolves respectively in the 2007-08 season creating the first “Three Amigos” with Paul Pierce. The Celtics won the Championship one year later.


Now the media will turn its focus on other prominent Black stars who have never won the championship and ask why. Why New York Knick, Carmelo Anthony and Amar’e Stoudemire, Orlando Magic, Dwight Howard, Los Angeles Clipper, Chris Paul, or Chicago Bull, Derreck Rose and Carlos Boozer cannot raise the O’Brien Trophy?


Meanwhile this intelligent sports media horde will not have the same questions for veteran Steve Nash of the Phoenix Suns. Why?


Since LeBron James has exorcised his demons and won the NBA championship the players listed above are the new Black targets.


Trades have been made over and over again as history reveals and will continue in 2013. There are free agents available; it is bound to transpire

©Copyrighted Gary Norris Gray @ Gray Leopard Prod