SWAC announces women’s hoop honors

By SWAC Media Relations
Updated: October 20, 2010

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. — Southern University has been predicted to win the 2011 SWAC women’s basketball title in voting from the league’s coaches and sports information directors. The Southern women’s basketball team returns 10 players after going 23-9 and winning both the 2010 SWAC regular season and tournament championships last year. They earned 19-of-20 first-place votes. Southern tops the order of finish with 199 points, with Prairie View A&M (151), Alabama A&M (142), Grambling State (134) and Texas Southern (117) rounding out the top half of the league.

Alabama State (108), Alcorn State (88), Mississippi Valley State (70) and Arkansas-Pine Bluff (64) were next while Jackson State (31) rounds out the predicted order of finish. Prairie View A&M’s Dominique Smith was picked as SWAC Preseason Player of the Year. Smith, a senior guard who was also named to the preseason first-team, averaged 13.8 points, 3.8 rebounds and 2.2 steals per game last season. She garnered All-SWAC second team honors in 2010 for her efforts. Southern’s Freda Allen was named Preseason Defensive Player of the Year. Allen joins Smith on the preseason first-team after leading the team in rebounds (5.7 rpg) and blocked shots (34). Joining Smith and Allen on the preseason All-SWAC first team are Southern’s Hannah Kador, Alabama State’s Tanika Jackson and Texas Southern’s Gabrielle Rosiji.

The Second team consists of Alcorn State’s Kiara Ruffin, Alabama A&M’s Whiquitta Tobar and Gabrielle Williams, Grambling State’s Secrett Anderson and Arkansas-Pine Bluff’s Jasmine Abrams.

Preseason Predicted Order of Finish (First-Place Votes in Parentheses)

Team Points
1. Southern (19) 199
2. Prairie View A&M (1) 151
3. Alabama A&M 142
4. Grambling State 134
5. Texas Southern 117
6. Alabama State 108
7. Alcorn State 88
8. Mississippi Valley State 70
9. Arkansas-Pine Bluff 64
10. Jackson State 31

Preseason Player of the Year: Dominique Smith, Prairie View A&M Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Freda Allen, Southern First Team G – Dominique Smith, Prairie View A&M, Sr.

G – Hannah Kador, Southern, Sr.

F – Tanika Jackson, Alabama State, Sr.

F – Freda Allen, Southern, R-Sr.

C – Gabrielle Rosiji, Texas Southern, Sr.

Second Team G – Kiara Ruffin, Alcorn State, Jr.

G – Whiquitta Tobar, Alabama A&M, Jr.

F – Secrett Anderson, Grambling State, Sr.

F – Jasmine Abrams, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Jr.

C – Gabrielle Williams, Alabama A&M, Jr.