SIAC announces preseason honors

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: July 30, 2010

ATLANTA — The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference announced the Preseason All-SIAC Football Teams and predicted order of finish as selected by the SIAC Football Coaches Association. The 2010 preseason team features 21 returning players from the 2009 All-SIAC team led by Clark Atlanta running back Winston Thompson and Benedict quarterback Pat Riley. Thompson, a two-time All-SIAC selection, is the conference’s leading returning rusher at nearly 120 yards per contest.

Riley, a rising senior, is the leading returner in total offense with 1,975 yards including 1,088 rushing yards. Albany State leads the way with nine total selections, including six first-team selections, led by safety Mario Fuller. Fuller, a 2009 All-SIAC selection, led the Golden Rams in tackles last season with 67 (50 solos) and is one of the top returning tacklers in the conference. Tuskegee, Fort Valley State, and Kentucky State were all tied for second with eight selections, each placing four players on both the first-and second-team. Tuskegee, who finished 10-2 (8-1 in SIAC), was picked to repeat as conference champions. The Golden Tigers are led by Preseason All-American linemen Darian Barnes and Danny Anderson (Lindy’s Sports) as well as All-SIAC wide receiver Antoine Mitchell. Mitchell, a rising senior, led the SIAC with 800 receiving yards and seven touchdown catches last season. Albany State was picked to finish second followed by Fort Valley State, who was picked to finished third.

Predicted Order of Finish 1. Tuskegee 2. Albany State 3. Fort Valley State 4. Benedict 5. Morehouse 6. Kentucky State 7. Clark Atlanta 8. Miles 9. Stillman 10. Lane

*As selected by the SIAC Football Coaches Association.