2010 Baseball HOF Ballot released

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: November 28, 2009

NEW YORK — A 12-time All-Star second baseman, a Most Valuable Player, a Cy Young Award winner, a Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award winner, a two-time home run champion, a two-time batting champion and a player who led his league in runs batted in, home runs and batting in separate seasons are among 15 new candidates on the 2010 Hall of Fame ballot mailed this week to more than 575 voting members of the Baseball Writers’ Association of America.

They join 11 holdovers from the 2009 balloting in which outfielders Rickey Henderson and Jim Rice were elected. Candidates must be named on 75 percent of the ballots cast to gain entry into the National Baseball Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y.

Henderson was named on 511 of the 539 ballots cast (94.8 percent) and Rice on 412 (76.4). For election, 405 votes were necessary. The only other players named on at least half the ballots were former National League MVP Andre Dawson with 361 (67.0) and the fifth-place career strikeout pitcher Bert Blyleven with 338 (62.7).

Newcomers to the ballot include Roberto Alomar, an all-around threat in a 17-season career that included World Series championship years with the Toronto Blue Jays in 1992 and ’93. Alomar won 10 Gold Glove Awards for fielding and was a career .300 hitter with 2,724 hits, combining power (210 home runs) and speed (474 stolen bases).

Alomar, part of a major-league family (father Sandy and brother Sandy Jr.), was the MVP of the American League Championship Series in 1992 and the All-Star Game in 1998.

Shortstop Barry Larkin, the National League MVP in 1995, spent his 19-season career with the Cincinnati Reds and won a World Series ring in 1990. A .295 hitter with 2,340 hits, including 198 home runs, Larkin won three Gold Gloves and was named to 12 All-Star teams.

Pitcher Pat Hentgen won 131 games over 14 seasons and was the AL Cy Young Award winner in 1996 with the Blue Jays. First baseman Eric Karros was the NL Rookie of the Year in 1992 with the Los Angeles Dodgers and went on to a 14-year career that included five seasons of more than 30 home runs and 100 RBI.

First baseman Fred McGriff led the AL in home runs in 1989 for Toronto and the NL in 1992 for San Diego and finished with a career total of 493, tied with Lou Gehrig for 26th place all-time.

McGriff, a .284 career hitter with 2,490 hits and 1,550 RBI, was the All-Star Game MVP in 1994 and batted .303 with 37 RBI in 50 post-season games winning a ring with the Atlanta Braves in 1995.

Edgar Martinez, for whom the AL Designated Hitter Award is now named, won batting titles in 1992 and 1995 with the Seattle Mariners, his only club over 18 seasons. Martinez compiled a career .312 average with 2,247 hits, 309 home runs among them. He drove in 1,261 runs and scored 1,219.

First baseman Andres Galarraga, a .288 hitter with 399 home runs and 1,425 RBI over 19 seasons, led the NL in batting in 1993, in home runs in 1996 and in RBI in 1996 and ’97.

The five-time All-Star and two-time Gold Glove winner was named Comeback Player of the Year twice, in 1993 and 2000 (the latter after recovering from non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma).

Also on the ballot for the first time are pitchers Kevin Appier, Mike Jackson and Shane Reynolds; catcher-infielder Todd Zeile; first baseman David Segui; third baseman Robin Ventura and outfielders Ellis Burks and Ray Lankford.

Others returning to the ballot in addition to Dawson and Blylven are pitchers Jack Morris and Lee Smith; outfielders Dale Murphy, Dave Parker and Tim Raines; first basemen Don Mattingly and Mark McGwire; shortstop Alan Trammell and outfielder-designated hitter Harold Baines.

Candidates may remain under consideration for up to 15 years provided they are named on at least five percent of the ballots cast.

Writers with 10 or more consecutive years’ experience make up the electorate, which must return ballots by a Dec. 31 postmark. Votes are counted jointly by the BBWAA’s Jack O’Connell and Ernst & Young partner Michael DiLecce.

Results will be announced Wednesday, Jan. 6, 2010, on the web sites of the Hall of Fame and the BBWAA.

The 2010 ballot

Roberto Alomar, Kevin Appier, Harold Baines, Bert Blyleven, Ellis Burks, Andre Dawson, Andres Galarraga, Pat Hentgen, Mike Jackson, Eric Karros, Ray Lankford, Barry Larkin, Edgar Martinez, Don Mattingly, Fred McGriff, Mark McGwire, Jack Morris, Dale Murphy, Dave Parker, Tim Raines, Shane Reynolds, David Segui, Lee Smith, Alan Trammell, Robin Ventura, Todd Zeile.