Adigun named C-USA Athlete of the Year

By Yolande Lezine
Updated: June 1, 2009

HOUSTON — University of Houston senior Seun Adigun has been named the 2009 Conference USA Female Track Athlete of the Year. Adigun emerged as one of the nation’s elite hurdlers this season.

She will enter the NCAA Midwest Regional ranked third in the NCAA with a time of 12.98 in the 100m hurdles. She also recorded that personal-best and winning performance at the Penn Relays.

It also marked the second-fastest time in school history.

The Chicago native recently won her second career C-USA title with a finish of 13.11, earning All C-USA first team honors. That time was one-tenth of a second off the meet record of 13.10, set by former Cougar Jenny Adams in 2000.

Adigun also has set regional marks in the 100m and 200m and as a member of the conference-leading 4×100 meter relay team (44.30), which ranks eighth in the nation.

She is the third female at the University of Houston to take home this award, joining Jenny Adams (1997) and Ebonie Floyd (2006, 2007).

On the men’s side, Cougar head track coach Leroy Burrell was named the C-USA Coach of the Year, while D’Korian Ford won the Freshman of the Year honors and Chris Carter was named the Top Performer of the Meet for the Cougars men’s track team.