OverTime Magazine Honors Top 10 Athlete in Business and Philanthropy

By Off the BASN Sports Wire
Updated: June 28, 2005

OT Magazine

2005 OT 10 Winners pose with OT Magazine’s publisher, Ryan McNeil (far right), at the OT 10 Awards on Saturday, June 25 in Atlanta. (L to R) Don Coleman, Jennifer Azzi, Junior Bridgeman, Gale Sayers, Franco Harris and Ryan McNeil. (Other OT10 winners not pictured: Robert Porcher, Chris Evert, Muhammad Ali, George Foreman and Billie Jean King) Photo credit: Frank Mullen/Matteblack.com

ATLANTA, GA.—The first annual OT 10 Awards, created by the leading business and lifestyle guide for professional athletes, OverTime (OT) Magazine, recognized athletes who contribute unyielding support through community service, charitable donations and entrepreneurial business endeavors on Saturday, June 25th at the Omni Hotel at the CNN Center in Atlanta, GA. A post-event party celebrating the one-year anniversary of OT Magazine immediately followed.

Commented the Publisher and Editor-in-Chief of OT Magazine and veteran NFL player, Ryan McNeil, “The OT 10 Award honors some outstanding individuals, each of whom has proven – in spectacular fashion – that the end of a pro-sports career can be the beginning of something far greater. Each of the men and women being recognized have leveraged past success to build new careers as entrepreneurs and professionals. More than that, each continues to seek out opportunities to help others achieve their own dreams of success.

Former and current athletes in attendance included OT 10 honorees: Jennifer Azzi, Gale Sayers, Franco Harris, Don Coleman, Junior Bridgeman and Robert Porcher. Also in attendance were OT Magazine’s publisher and veteran NFL player Ryan McNeil; Chuck Smith (retired Atlanta Falcon and 790 the Zone); Theo Ratliff (Portland Trailblazers); Teresa Edwards (Minnesota Lynx); Kevin Jones (Detroit Lion); Robert Griffith (Cleveland Browns); former WNBA player, Rushia Brown; former NFL players, Romin Fortin, Dave Duerson, Nat Moore and Jamal Anderson; and former MLB players, Sam McDowell and ‘Sweet’ Lou Whitaker.

The 2005 winners and respective categories are:

  • Don Coleman (OT MVP)
  • Muhammad Ali (Lifelong Service Award)
  • Gale Sayers (Best Overall Company)
  • Junior Bridgeman (Entrepreneur of the Year)
  • George Foreman (Best Product of the Year)

  • Jennifer Azzi (Best New Company)
  • Chris Evert (Outstanding Philanthropist)
  • Billie Jean King (Outstanding Foundation)

Utilizing sponsorship opportunities and table sales, a portion of the proceeds from the OT 10 Awards will be donated to several charities, including the PBFN Foundation.

About OverTime (OT) Magazine

OT Magazine, a PBFN, Inc. company, is the leading business and lifestyle guide for professional athletes and sports industry insiders.

Published quarterly, OT is distributed exclusively to professional athletes – past and present – and to key professionals in the sports industry and media. For more information visit www.ot-magazine.com or call 1-866-536-4600.