Black College Announces 2005 Elite Teams And Award Winners

By Off The BASN Sports Wire
Updated: May 31, 2005

NEW YORK — is proud to release its second Black College Baseball Awards. Candidates were taken from the 19 Division-I programs which included the MEAC, SWAC, Chicago State of the Mid-Continent, and Savannah State University, an independent program.

Coach of the Year Awards goes to North Carolina A&T University head coach Keith Shumate. Shumate led North Carolina A&T to its third MEAC title, first since 1993. The Aggies broke the school record for wins, and is the first team not named Bethune-Cookman to win the MEAC baseball title in six years.

Player of the Year awards goes to sophomore outfielder Jeremy Jones of North Carolina A&T University. Jones led the Aggies with a .397 batting average and was a major contributor in A&T’s MEAC title run. Jones also received MEAC Player of the Year and knocked in the game winning RBI in the MEAC Championship game.

Junior A&T hurler Michael Hauff struck out 129 batters in 101.2 innings while only walking 26. His command of the strike zone helped him to an 8-4 record, MEAC All-Conference First Team honors, and MEAC All-Tourney team honors. Hauff was also a 2004 choice for First Team pitcher.

For the men and women behind the scenes that usually receive no recognition, Sports Information Directors and their baseball contacts are the ones that get the information out. Tyrone Broxton of Alcorn State University kept the press releases hot every game, won or lost. Under his leadership, ASU developed a new athletic website that provided the most informative and current HBCU baseball information.

The Black College Baseball Elite Teams are comprised of athletes from Independents, Mid-Continent, MEAC, and SWAC conferences. North Carolina A&T landed 5 players on the squad, Alcorn State 3, Bethune Cookman 2, Chicago State 2, Coppin State 2, Jackson State 2, Maryland Eastern Shore 2, Norfolk State 2, Southern 2, Texas Southern 2, Florida A&M 1, Mississippi Valley 1, Prairie View 1, Savannah State 1.

First Team

Position Players

1B, Kevin Nelson, Southern University; 2B, Corey Wimberly, Alcorn State University; 3B, Charlie Gamble, North Carolina A&T University; SS, Brandon Revis, Southern University; C, Brian Vickers, Coppin State University; OF, Jeremy Jones, North Carolina A&T University; OF, Anton Shinhoster , Jackson State University; OF, Gerald Smith, Savannah State University Pitchers

SP, Richard Rodriguez, Bethune Cookman College; SP, De’Mece Williams, Norfolk State University; SP, Michael Hauff, North Carolina A&T University; SP, John Primus, North Carolina A&T University; RP, Matt Chowin, Alcorn State University; RP, Jesus Melendez, Coppin State University

Second Team

Position Players

1B, Brandon McCabe, Maryland Eastern Shore; 2B, Carl Lipsey, Jackson State University; 3B, Juan Serrano, Norfolk State University; SS, Jonathan Sakurai, Chicago State University; C, Alfonso Renya, Texas Southern University; OF, Caleb Betschart, Alcorn State University; OF, Craig Munch, Maryland Eastern Shore; OF, John Torres, Chicago State University Pitchers

SP, Raphael Kyles, Bethune Cookman College; SP, Mike Tavernier, Florida A&M University; SP, Matthew Chase, Prairie View A&M University; SP, Issac Daniels, Texas Southern University; RP, Richard Hawk, North Carolina A&T University; RP, Rudy Casias, Mississippi Valley State University


COACH OF THE YEAR Keith Shumate, North Carolina A&T University PLAYER OF THE YEAR Jeremy Jones, OF, North Carolina A&T University PITCHER OF THE YEAR Michael Hauff, RHP, North Carolina A&T University SPORT INFORMATION DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR Tyrone Broxton, Alcorn State University