Honoring the best of 2010

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: January 22, 2011

PITTSBURGH — American Urban Radio Networks has announced the members of the 2010 SBN Sports Black College All-American (BCAA) Team; to be honored during the annual BCAA Awards Weekend February 11-12, 2011 in Orlando, Florida. The event will also pay tribute to the Albany State University Golden Rams; SBN’s 2010 Black College National Championship team. The South Carolina State Bulldogs lead the way with four players selected as members of the team followed by Grambling State with three players selected.. Grambling State University runningback Frank Warren is the “SBN Sports Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year.” Also, Texas Southern University linebacker DeJuan Fulghum has been named “SBN Sports Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year” and Bethune Cookman University Head Coach Brian Jenkins is the “SBN Sports Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.”

Frank Warren, (6-0, 180, Sr., Pleasant Grove, Ala.) Grambling State University, “SBN Sports | Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year” Warren led the SWAC and was 3rd in the NCAA in rushing with 1,592 yards.

He also averaged 10.4 points per game, which was 5th in the FCS.

He is currently 6th among active career rushers in the NCAA and second all-time in the SWAC finishing with 3,910 yards. During the 2010 season he passed NFL Hall of Famer Walter Payton on the Southwestern Athletic Conference’s all-time rushing list moving into 5th place.

DeJuan Fulghum, (6-1, 220, Jr., Killeen, Texas) Texas Southern University, “SBN Sports | Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year” Fulghum finished 3rd in the SWAC in total tackles with 91, and led the league with 9.0 sacks. He finished with 15.0 tackles-for-loss and one interception. Fulghum led the Tiger defense to a #2 ranking in the FCS in total defense.

Brian Jenkins, Bethune Cookman University, “SBN Sports | Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year” Jenkins took over the reins of the Wildcats’ football program in 2010 and lead B-CU to a 10-1 overall record and 7-1 mark in the MEAC.

The Wildcats earned a share of the conference title and finished their season by hosting a first-round game in the FCS Playoffs.

The 2010 SBN Sports Black College All-American Team also includes South Carolina State University teammates Johnny Culbreath, David Erby, Blake Erickson and Josh Harrison. Culbreath, Erby and Erickson were also members of the 2009 SBN Sports Black College All-American Team.

The 2010 SBN Sports Black College All-American Team will be honored at the 37th annual BCAA Awards Luncheon on Saturday, February 12, 2011 at the Doubletree Resort Orlando in Orlando, Florida.

The Co-hosts for the event are Doug Banks and DeDe McGuire of The Doug Banks Radio Show. FOX Network Sports Analyst, Actor and former New York Giants Defensive End Michael Strahan is the keynote speaker for the occasion, which also includes an NFL “Skull Session” dinner and BCAA Honorary Committee Dessert Reception.

Special invited guests include Tampa Bay Buccaneers Head Coach Raheem Morris, Pittsburgh Steelers Co-owner John Stallworth, Arizona Cardinals cornerback Dominique Rodgers-Cromartie and Cleveland Browns defensive end Marcus Benard.

The Black College All American Awards Weekend (BCAA) recognizes and celebrates the academic and athletic achievements of student athletes who play football at America’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities.

It is attended by past and present NFL greats including Doug Williams, Mel Blount, Lem Barney, Robert Brazile, Kenny Burrough, Greg Lloyd, the members of the 2010 BCAA Team, their families, event sponsors and special invited guests.

Position Name School Height Weight Class Hometown
QB Casey Therriault Jackson State 6-3 205 Jr. Wyoming Park, MI
RB Frank Warren Grambling State 6-0 180 Sr. Pleasant Grove, AL
RB DeAngelo Branche Norfolk State 5-11 200 Sr. Norfolk, VA
WR Raymond Webber Arkansas Pine Bluff 6-3 220 Sr. St. Louis, MO
WR Ronnie Childs Albany State 6-3 200 Sr. Manchester, GA
TE Renty Rollins Jackson State 6-4 255 Jr. Detroit, MI
OL Natiel Curry Bethune Cookman 6-2 280 Jr. Miami, FL
OL Josh Harrison South Carolina State 6-4 290 Sr. Lake City, SC
OL Johnny Culbreath South Carolina State 6-6 310 Sr. Monroe, GA
OL David Mims Virginia Union 6-7 330 Sr. Charlotte, NC
OL Charles Smith Texas Southern 6-5 325 Sr. Largo, MD
PK Blake Erickson South Carolina State 5-10 165 Jr. Pensacola, FL
DL Kendrick Ellis Hampton University 6-3 280 Sr. West Palm Beach, FL
DL Malcom Jenkins Elizabeth City State 6-5 235 Sr. Florence, NJ
DL Marquis Jackson Texas Southern 6-5 275 So. Inglewood, CA
DL Derrin Nettles Morehouse 6-4 305 Sr. Montgomery, AL
LB David Erby South Carolina State 6-0 220 Sr. Rock Hill, SC
LB Dejuan Fulghum Texas Southern 6-1 220 Jr. Killeen, TX
LB Cliff Exama Grambling State. 5-10 235 Jr. N. Miami Beach, FL
DB Moses Ellis Prairie View A&M 5-8 175 Jr. Fort Worth, TX
DB Eugene Clifford Tennessee State 6-2 205 Sr. Cincinnati, OH
DB Michael Williams Bethune Cookman 6-3 190 Sr. Miami, FL
DB Qier Hall Florida A&M 6-2 175 Sr. Cocoa Beach, FL
P Ronnie Partridge Stillman College 5-10 185 Jr. Ridge Spring, SC

SBN COACH OF THE YEAR – Brian Jenkins, Bethune Cookman University