Showing their dominance

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: December 23, 2010

NEW YORK — Eleven players from HBCUs have been named to the 2010 The Sports Network/ FCS All-America team.

Led by first-teamers Raymond Webber (Arkansas-Pine Bluff), Brandon Peguese (Hampton) and Eugene Clifford (Tennessee State), three offensive, seven defensive and one special teams player were picked for the three teams released on Wednesday. Second Team selectees were Frank Warren (Grambling State), Kendrick Ellis (Hampton) and Kejuan Riley (Alabama State). Johnny Culbreath (S.C. State), Larrone Moore (Delaware State), Andre Caroll (Delaware State), Dejuan Fulghum (Texas Southern) and Jer-ryan Harris (Arkansas-Pine Bluff) were selected to the third team. All 14 FCS conferences plus an independent program, Georgia State, had players represented on the three teams. The Big Sky Conference led with 16 selections, while CAA Football was second with 13. The Missouri Valley and Southern conferences had nine each. Both the MEAC and SWAC had five selections each. A national panel of sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries selected the All-America based only on the regular season. The voting at quarterback reflected the order of the Walter Payton Award voting. Western Illinois senior Matt Barr, Stephen F. Austin senior Jeremy Moses and Appalachian State junior DeAndre Presley have been invited to the national awards banquet on Jan. 6 in Frisco, Texas. The order of the All- America quarterbacks will be released after the unveiling of the Payton Award. FIRST TEAM OFFENSE QB – Matt Barr, Western Illinois, Sr., or Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., or DeAndre Presley, Appalachian State, Jr.; RB – Nate Eachus, Colgate, Sr.; Henry Harris, Southeast Missouri State, Sr. FB – Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Jr. WR – Tysson Poots, Southern Utah, Sr.; Chris Summers, Liberty, Jr.; Raymond Webber, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Sr. TE – Andrew Kennedy, Columbia, Sr. OT – Ben Ijalana, Villanova, Sr.; Mike Person, Montana State, Sr. OG – David Arkin, Missouri State, Sr.; Pat Illig, Wofford, Sr. C – Chris Powers, Eastern Washington, Jr. PK – Matt Bevins, Liberty, Jr. KR – Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin, So. DEFENSE DE – Mario Kurn, San Diego, Jr.; Ameet Pall, Wofford, Jr. DT – Martin Parker, Richmond, Sr.; Brandon Peguese, Hampton, Sr. LB – Kyle Glazier, Western Illinois, Sr.; Tyler Holmes, Massachusetts, Jr.; J.C. Sherritt, Eastern Washington, Sr.; D.J. Smith, Appalachian State, Sr. CB – Jarard Cribbs, Lehigh, Sr.; Trumaine Johnson, Montana, Jr. S – Eugene Clifford, Tennessee State, Sr.; Mark LeGree, Appalachian State, Sr. P – John Prelvitz, North Dakota State, Sr. PR – Shawn Abuhoff, Dartmouth, Jr. SECOND TEAM OFFENSE QB – Matt Barr, Western Illinois, Sr., or Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., or DeAndre Presley, Appalachian State, Jr. RB – Taiwan Jones, Eastern Washington, Jr.; Frank Warren, Grambling State, Sr. FB – Vai Tafuna, Weber State, Sr. WR – Marcus Harris, Murray State, Sr.; Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.; Lito Senatus, Western Illinois, Sr. TE – Alex Gottlieb, William & Mary, Jr. OT – Keith Hill Jr., William & Mary, Sr.; Curt Porter, Jacksonville State, Sr.

OG – Frank Knights, Southeast Missouri, Sr.; J.C. Oram, Weber State, Jr.

C – Ryan McKnight, South Dakota State, Sr. PK – Jason Cunningham, Montana State, Jr. KR – Jeremy Caldwell, Eastern Kentucky, Jr. DEFENSE DE – Jabari Fletcher, Appalachian State, Sr.; Zack Nash, Sacramento State, Jr. DT – Kendrick Ellis, Hampton, Sr.; Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, So. LB – Matt Evans, New Hampshire, So.; Eric McBride, Richmond, Sr., Derek Rose, Northwestern State, So., A.J. Storms, Idaho State, Jr. CB – Korey Lindsey, Southern Illinois, Sr.; Dino Vasso, New Hampshire, Sr. S – Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, So.; James Vercammen, Dayton, Sr. P – David Harrington, Idaho State, Jr. PR – Dontrelly Johnson, Murray State, Jr. THIRD TEAM OFFENSE QB – Matt Barr, Western Illinois, Sr., or Jeremy Moses, Stephen F. Austin, Sr., or DeAndre Presley, Appalachian State, Jr. RB – Kyle Minnett, South Dakota State, Sr.; Andrew Pierce, Delaware, Fr. FB – Kendall Gaskins, Richmond, So. WR – Joe Collins, Weber State, Sr.; Aaron Mellette, Elon, So.; Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, So. TE – Shadrae King, Robert Morris, Jr. OT – Johnny Culbreath, South Carolina State, Sr.; Will Rackley, Lehigh, Sr. OG – Luis Ruffolo, Penn, Sr.; Kris Poindexter, Northern Arizona, Sr. C – Sean Middleton, Southeast Missouri State, Sr. PK – Ian Vance, Georgia State, Sr. KR – Larrone Moore, Delaware State, Sr. DEFENSE DE – Kenneth Charles, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.; Dain Taylor, Drake, Sr. DT – Andre Caroll, Delaware State, Sr.; Dan Ogden, Montana State, Sr. LB – Dejuan Fulghum, Texas Southern, Jr.; Jer-ryan Harris, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Fr.; Antoine WIlkinson, Missouri State, Sr.; Jabara Williams, Stephen F.

Austin, Sr. CB – Asa Jackson, Cal Poly, Jr.; Justin Rogers, Richmond, Jr. S – Anthony Bratton, Delaware, Sr.; Matt Johnson, Eastern Washington, Jr. P – David Miller, William & Mary, Sr. PR – Tavoy Moore, Idaho State, Jr.