Here come the playoffs

By Tony McClean, BASN Editor In Chief
Updated: November 14, 2010

NEW YORK (BASN) — On Sunday afternoon, the pairings for the Division II Football playoffs were announced and for the first time ever, the SIAC has had two teams earn a playoff berth in the same year. League champion Albany State and Morehouse College were two of the three HBCU squads that were picked to make the playoffs. Shaw University, who won their third CIAA crown in four seasons, also got the nod.
Morehouse, who finished 8-2 (7-2 SIAC) in the regular season, earned their first playoff berth in school history. The Maroon Tigers, who rank number five in NCAA Super Region Two, will travel to face number four seed Wingate in the first round on Saturday, November 20th at 12 noon ET. The Golden Rams, who won their first SIAC title since 2006, will have a bye in the first round of the playoffs and host the winner of Wingate/Morehouse contest on Saturday, November 27th at 12 noon ET.
For the first time since 2004, head coach Mike White and Albany State finished a perfect 10-0 (9-0 SIAC) in the regular season and are seeded number one in the Super Region Two. Other playoff teams in the region include Delta State, Valdosta State, and North Alabama. The winner of Super Region Two will advance to the semifinals on December 11th with a berth to the national championship game on the line. As for the Bears, they’re seeded fifth in the Super One Region and will open NCAA play also on Saturday, November 20 by traveling to fourth-seeded Shepherd (W.V.) University for a game at 12 noon ET.
Shaw finished their season 9-2 after Saturday’s 14-7 win over Virginia State to take the CIAA championship. The team finished the conference campaign undefeated (7-0) to earn the spot in the championship game. On the other half of the bracket, Mercyhurst has the bye as the second seed and awaits the winner of the game between third-seeded California (Pa.) and sixth-seeded Bloomsburg.

The Shaw-Shepherd winner will advance to play number one seed Kutztown. The NCAA Division II National Championship game will take place December 18th in Florence, Alabama at 11 a.m. ET.