Class of 2011 semifinalists announced

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: November 28, 2010

CANTON — Five first-year eligible players — Jerome Bettis, Marshall Faulk, Curtis Martin, Willie Roaf, and Deion Sanders — are among the semifinalists being considered for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2011. Although the semifinalist list is usually limited to 25, this year there are 26 resulting from a tie for the final position. The Pro Football Hall of Fame By-Laws for the Selection Committee provides that the list shall consist of “25 nominees plus all ties.” The Hall of Fame’s Selection Committee chose the 26 semifinalists from the previously announced list of 114 preliminary nominees. In addition to the five first-year eligible nominees, two other previously eligible candidates, Edward DeBartolo, Jr. and Ed Sabol have made it to the semifinalist’s list for the first time. Each of the remaining 19 nominees on the Selection Committee’s list has been a semifinalist at least once prior to this year. The complete list of 26 modern-era semifinalists is as follows: Jerome Bettis, RB – 1993-95 Rams, 1996-2005 Steelers Tim Brown, WR/KR – 1988-2003 Raiders, 2004 Buccaneers Cris Carter, WR – 1987-89 Eagles, 1990-2001 Vikings, 2002 Dolphins Don Coryell, Coach – 1973-77 Cardinals, 1978-1986 Chargers Roger Craig, RB – 1983-90 49ers, 1991 Raiders, 1992-93 Vikings Terrell Davis, RB – 1995-2001 Broncos Dermontti Dawson, C – 1988-2000 Steelers Edward DeBartolo, Jr., Owner – 1979-97 49ers Richard Dent, DE – 1983-93, 1995 Bears, 1994 49ers, 1996 Colts, 1997 Eagles Chris Doleman, DE/LB – 1985-93, 99 Vikings, 1994-95 Falcons, 1996-98 49ers Marshall Faulk, RB – 1994-98 Colts, 1999-2005 Rams Kevin Greene, LB/DE – 1985-92 Rams, 1993-95 Steelers, 1996, 1998-99 Panthers, 1997 49ers Ray Guy, P – 1973-86 Raiders Charles Haley, DE/LB – 1986-91, 1999 49ers, 1992-96 Cowboys Lester Hayes, CB – 1977-86 Raiders Cortez Kennedy, DT – 1990-2000 Seahawks Curtis Martin, RB – 1995-97 Patriots, 1998-2005 Jets Art Modell, Owner – 1961-95 Browns, 1996-2003 Ravens Andre Reed, WR – 1985-99 Bills, 2000 Redskins Willie Roaf, T – 1993-2001 Saints, 2002-05 Chiefs Deion Sanders, CB/KR/PR – 1989-93 Falcons, 1994 49ers, 1995-99 Cowboys, 2000 Redskins, 2004-05 Ravens Shannon Sharpe, TE – 1990-99, 2002-03 Broncos, 2000-01 Ravens Paul Tagliabue, Commissioner – 1989-2006 National Football League Aeneas Williams, CB/S – 1991-2000 Cardinals, 2001-04 Rams George Young, Contributor – 1968-74 Colts, 1975-78 Dolphins, 1979-97 Giants, 1998-2001 National Football League The list of 26 semifinalists will be reduced by mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists. That list increases to 17 finalist nominees with the inclusion of the two recommended candidates of the Hall of Fame’s Seniors Committee. The Seniors Committee nominees, who were announced in August, are linebacker Chris Hanburger, Washington Redskins (1965-1978) and linebacker Les Richter, Los Angeles Rams (1954-1962). The results of the modern-era reduction vote to 15 finalists will be announced in early January, 2011. To be considered for election to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, a nominated player or coach must not have participated as an active player or coach for five consecutive seasons. A contributor, who is a nominee who has made outstanding contributions to pro football in capacities other than playing and coaching, may still be active in his pro football career. Although there is no set number of Enshrinees for any Hall of Fame Class, the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s current ground rules do stipulate that between four and seven new members will be selected each year. No more than five modern-era nominees can be elected in a given year and a class of six or seven Enshrinees can only be achieved if one or both senior nominees are elected. The Class of 2011 will be determined at the Selection Committee’s annual meeting on Saturday, February 5, in North Texas the day before Super Bowl XLV. The election results will be announced at 7 p.m. ET (6 p.m.

CT) during a one-hour NFL Network special, live from the Super Bowl media headquarters.