SIAC announces hoop honors

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: October 15, 2010

ATLANTA — The SIAC has announced their 2010-11 Men’s and Women’s Preseason All-Conference Teams and Predictions, as voted by the Men’s and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. The women’s preseason team features five returning players from the 2009-2010 teams, led by Lane’s Veronica Jackson. Jackson, a 5-foot-10 senior, led the SIAC in scoring in 2009-10 with 20.2 points per game. She was also the SIAC’s sixth-leading rebounder, averaging 8.6 rebounds per contest.
Eight players return from the 2009-10 men’s all-conference teams, led by reigning Player of the Year Najee Lane of Clark Atlanta. Lane, a 6-foot-4 guard/forward, led Clark Atlanta in scoring and rebounding, averaging 13.5 points and 6.8 rebounds per game.
The Fort Valley State women were picked to finish first by the league’s women’s coaches. The Lady Wildcats, led by junior forward Kendra Evans, look to repeat as regular season champions after a 21-1 conference record, 26-2 overall, in 2009-10.

The Benedict Lady Tigers were picked to finish second after winning the 2010 women’s conference championship followed by Kentucky State and Tuskegee, both picked to finish third.

Also looking to repeat as regular season champions will be the Clark Atlanta men, who were picked by the coaches to finish in first going into the 2010-11 season.

Led by seniors Najee Lane and David Brown, the Panthers will look to build on their 2009-2010 campaign when they finished with a 19-5 conference record, 24-6 overall. After winning the 2010 men’s conference championship, Tuskegee was picked to finish second followed by Claflin, who was picked to finish third.


First Team Shonice Sprouse, LeMoyne-Owen, 5-9, Senior, Guard
Tequlia Martin, Tuskegee, 5-7, Senior, Guard
Kendra Evans, Fort Valley St., 5-11, Junior, Forward
Alecia Young, Stillman, 6-1, Senior, Forward
Veronica Jackson, Lane, 5-10, Senior, Forward
Second Team
Bridget Williams, Benedict, 5-5, Junior, Guard Charvez Holmes, Benedict, 5-8, Junior, Forward Kiarra Morgan, Kentucky St., 5-11, Senior, Forward Ryan Herd, LeMoyne-Owen, 6-0, Senior, Forward
Jamila McKinnis, Stillman, 5-11, Junior, Forward
First Team
Najee Lane, Clark Atlanta, 6-4, Senior, Forward
Eric Salley, Claflin, 6-2, Sr., Guard
Jelani Figures, Morehouse, 6-4, Sr., Guard
Lajay Sears, Stillman, 6-4, Sr., Guard
Andre Nelson, Tuskegee, 6-6, Sr., Forward/Center
Second Team
Kennie Eberhart, Benedict, 6-4, Senior, Guard
Tony Johnson, Kentucky St., 6-2, Senior, Guard
David Brown, Clark Atlanta, 6-4, Senior, Forward
Lorell Friend, Tuskegee, 6-2, Junior, Guard
Geno Green, Paine, 6-4, Junior, Forward

2010-11 Women’s Predicted Order of Finish 1. Fort Valley State 2. Benedict 3. Kentucky State (tie) Tuskegee 5. Stillman 6. LeMoyne-Owen 7. Miles 8. Albany State 9. Claflin 10. Lane 11. Paine 12. Clark Atlanta

2010-11 Men’s Predicted Order of Finish 1. Clark Atlanta 2. Tuskegee 3. Claflin 4. Benedict 5. Stillman 6. Albany State 7. Kentucky State (tie) LeMoyne-Owen (tie) Morehouse 10. Lane 11. Fort Valley State 12. Paine 13. Miles