Honoring more HBCU greats

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: October 27, 2010

ATLANTA — The Black College Football Hall of Fame has announced its second class of gridiron greats selected for induction. The newest members were selected from a list of 35 finalists who had been determined earlier by the Black College Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee comprised of journalists and former football executives from around the country.

The committee includes Ernie Accorsi, Charles Bailey, Gil Brandt, Charles Garcia, Donald Hunt, Mike Hurd, Roscoe Nance, Ty Miller, Charlie Neal, and Lloyd Vance. Deacon Jones and Bill Nunn, who were inducted in to the Hall of Fame in 2010, also took part in selecting the final eleven to be in the 2011 class.

The 11 men selected will be honored on February 19, 2011 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Atlanta, Georgia at the Priority Payment Systems 2nd Annual Enshrinement Ceremony from 6 to 9:30 pm.

Monday Night Football Analyst John Gruden will serve as Master of Ceremonies.

Black College Football Hall of Fame — Class of 2011

· Lem Barney (DB, Jackson State, 1963-66) · Mel Blount (DB, Southern, 1966-70) · Roosevelt Brown (OL, Morgan State, 1949-52) · Willie Davis (DL, Grambling State, 1952-56) · Robert “Bullet Bob” Hayes (WR/RB/KR, Florida A&M, 1960-64) · Joe Kendall (QB, Kentucky State, 1934-1936) · Art Shell (OL, University of Maryland-Eastern Shore, 1964-67) · Doug Williams (QB, Grambling State, 1974-77) · Earl Banks (Head Coach, Morgan State, 1960-73) · Willie Jeffries (Head Coach, South Carolina State, 1973-2001) · Collie J. Nicholson (Sports Information Director, Grambling State)