SIAC moves to divisional alignment

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: September 17, 2010

ATLANTA – The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) has announced that football will move to divisional play starting in 2011.

The 10 football-playing members will be aligned into two five-team divisions — East and West. As a result, the SIAC will also play its inaugural championship football game in 2011.

The game will be played November 12th at a location yet to be determined.

“Moving to an East-West divisional format will not only provide our teams with an opportunity to compete for divisional championships, but also allow the SIAC to determine its conference champion by playing the first ever SIAC Championship Football Game, which we are very excited about,” says Commissioner Greg Moore.

Teams will play a seven game conference slate, including all four divisional opponents and three rotating non-divisional opponents. Every two years, one non-divisional opponent will rotate on, and off, each team’s schedule over a 10-year period (2011-2020) and each team will play their non-divisional opponents an equal number of times.

An exception to the rotation will be Morehouse and Tuskegee, who will continue to renew their rivalry annually in the Tuskegee-Morehouse Classic.

The move will also give teams an opportunity to schedule up to three non-conference games. Here are the SIAC Football divisional alignments, beginning in 2011: West East Kentucky State Albany State Lane Benedict Miles Clark Atlanta Stillman Fort Valley State

Tuskegee Morehouse