Honors still coming in for Prairie View

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: August 8, 2010

NEW YORK — Six members of the defending SWAC champions from Prairie View A&M, including their all-conference backfield of quarterback K.J. Black and running back Donald Babers, are part of the 2010 BoxToRow.com/BASN HBCU Preseason All-American team.

The preseason team is made up of 27 of the top Black college football players in the country. The voters are comprised of some of America’s top writers who cover black college football.

Black, the SWAC’s preseason choice for offensive player of the year, was the premier offensive threat in the league last year while leading the Panthers to their first conference title in nearly half a century.

He threw for 225.9 yards per game and led the league in pass efficiency by nearly 30 points at 172.8. He tossed 22 touchdowns on the season with just four interceptions. As for Babers, he was the Panthers’ leading rusher and scorer with 919 yards and 60 total points last season. The senior from Houston is a two-time All-SWAC First Teamer. Black and Babers are joined in the backfield by Grambling’s Frank Warren. The other four Panthers named to this year’s BTRC/BASN preseason team are offensive lineman Tim Tusey, defensive lineman Quinton Spears, defensive back Chris Adingupu, and punter Pedro Ventura. The remainder of the offense includes lineman Ramon Chinyoung (Southern), Johnny Culbreath (South Carolina State), Josh Harrison (South Carolina State), Michael Stevens (Tuskegee), and tight end Lamont Bryant (Morgan State). Elizabeth City State’s Dexter Manley and Antoine Mitchell of Tuskegee make up this year’s wide receiving corps. Both players were preseason all-conference selections as well. On defense, last year’s BTRC/BASN Defensive Player of the year, Grambling Christian Anthony, is part of a defensive line that includes Kendrick Ellis (Hampton), and Malcolm Jenkins (Elizabeth City State). Anthony was a dominant defensive force who finished 10th in the league with 76 tackles and third overall in both sacks (8.0) and tackles-for-loss (15.0) in 2009. As a defensive lineman he recorded five interceptions and returned two of them for touchdowns for the Tigers.

He led the league in fumbles forced with five, and he recovered three loose balls. The linebacker corps consists of senior David Erby (South Carolina State), junior Cliff Exama (Grambling State), and senior Julio Sanchez (Hampton).

Joining Adingupu in the BTRC/BASN secondary are Eugene Clifford (Tennessee State), Mario Fuller (Albany State), and Jason House (Southern). Along with Ventura on this year’s specialist squad are a pair of Grambling State teammates — sophomore placekicker Ari Johnson (last year’s BTRC/BASN Rookie of the Year) and senior return specialist Kiare Thompson. The BoxToRow.com/BASN HBCU Preseason All-American team is a collaboration between DWCommunications, LLC (the parent company of www.boxtorow.com) and The Black Athlete Sports Network (www.blackathlete.com).

Boxtorow.com/BASN 2010 Preseason HBCU All-American Team Offense (Name, School, Height., Weight., Year., Hometown) QB: K.J. Black (Prairie View A&M) 6-4, 225, Sr., Louisville, Ky. RB: Donald Babers (Prairie View A&M) 5-9, 170, Sr., Houston, Tx. RB: Frank Warren (Grambling State) 6-0, 200, Sr., Pleasant Grove, Ala. OL: Ramon Chinyoung (Southern) 6-1, 295, Sr., Houston, Tx. OL: Johnny Culbreath (South Carolina State) 6-6, 310, r-Jr., Monroe, Ga.* OL: Josh Harrison (South Carolina State) 6-4, 290, Sr., Lake City, S.C. OL: Michael Stevens (Tuskegee) 6-6, 398, Sr., Montgomery, Ala. OL: Tim Tusey (Prairie View A&M) 6-3, 280, r-Soph., Houston, Tx. TE: Lamont Bryant (Morgan State) 6-6, 210, Jr., Newport News, Va. WR: Dexter Manley (Elizabeth City State) 6-5, 200, Sr., Virginia Beach, Va.*** WR: Antoine Mitchell (Tuskegee) 5-11, 187, Soph., Atlanta, Ga. Defense DL: Christian Anthony (Grambling State) 6-4, 246, Sr., Birmingham, Ala.** DL: Kendrick Ellis (Hampton) 6-5, 340, r-Sr., West Palm Beach, Fl. DL: Quinton Spears (Prairie View A&M) 6-4, 240, r-Sr., Montgomery, Tx. DL: Malcolm Jenkins (Elizabeth City State) 6-4, 245, Sr., Florence, N.J. LB: David Erby (South Carolina State) 6-1, 215, r-Sr., Rock Hill, S.C. LB: Cliff Exama (Grambling State) 6-0, 230, Jr., North Miami Beach, Fl. LB: Julio Sanchez (Hampton) 6-0, 225, Sr., Miami, Fl. DB: Chris Adingupu (Prairie View A&M) 6-1, 180, Sr., Miami, Fl. DB: Eugene Clifford (Tennessee State) 6-2, 195, Sr., Cincinnati, Oh. DB: Mario Fuller (Albany State) 6-0, 226, Sr., Jessup, Ga. DB: Jason House (Southern) 6-0, 190, r-Sr., Laurel, Miss.* Specialists PK: Ari Johnson (Grambling State) 5-11, 180, Soph.,Corona, Ca.* P: Pedro Ventura (Prairie View A&M) 5-9, 170, Sr., Houston, Tx. RS: Kiare Thompson (Grambling State) 6-0, 185, Sr., Sacramento, Ca. * — 2009 Boxtorow.com/BASN All-American ** — 2009 Boxtorow.com/BASN Defensive Player of the Year *** — 2008 Boxtorow.com/BASN All-American