CIAA announces preseason honors

By CIAA Media Relations
Updated: July 23, 2010

VIRGINIA — The 2010 CIAA Predicted Order of Finish and Preseason All-CIAA Team were announced at the annual Football Kick-Off Press Conference held this past Thursday morning at Jones Dining Hall on the campus of Virginia State University in Petersburg.

This year’s press conference featured the 2010 season theme, “Fear the 13 — Triskaidekaphobia.” With the return of Lincoln University (Pa.) and Winston-Salem State University to the conference, the CIAA has increased its number of football playing schools to 13.

Each football coach was interviewed by Stan Lewter of the Urban Sports and Entertainment Group as they shared their outlooks for the upcoming year.

The 1980 season was the league’s last year to host as many schools. The Order of Finish and Preseason All-CIAA Team are voted on by the CIAA Football Coaches Association.

Fayetteville State University has been picked to repeat as CIAA Football Champions. Shaw University was rated second overall and runnerup in the South Division. Bowie State was picked first in the North Division and third overall.

BSU led the conference with six selectees to the Preseason All-CIAA Team.

Predicted Order of Finish

1. Fayetteville State 2. Shaw 3. Bowie State 4. Elizabeth City State 5. Virginia Union 6. Winston-Salem State 7. Saint Augustine’s College 8. Virginia State 9. Chowan 10. Johnson C. Smith 11. Saint Paul’s 12. Livingstone 13. Lincoln (Pa.)