The Best of The Best

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: April 29, 2010

NEW YORK — It was an outstanding season for the Saint Augustine’s men’s basketball program and the honors for head coach Lonnie Blow and the Falcons keep coming.

Two members of the CIAA champions — Chris Jordan and Haywood Fain — were among the members of this year’s HBCU Division II/NAIA All-America Basketball team which was announced Thursday.

The team was voted on by selected members of the media who cover HBCU basketball.

Blow was tabbed as the BTRC/BASN Coach of the Year as he led the Falcons to the regular season and CIAA Tournament titles. The Falcons finished 27-5 and were semi-finalists in the Atlantic Regional Tournament.

Jordan finished the year as one of the leading scorers (16.3 ppg) and three-point shooters (39 percent) in the CIAA. He was named the CIAA Tournament’s MVP after averaging 17.3 points and 2 steals per game.

Fain was named All-CIAA for the second-straight year. The former CIAA Rookie of the Year averaged 11.4 points per game and was second in the CIAA in rebounding (8.2).

The St. Aug’s pair is joined on the first team by another set of teammates — West Virginia State’s backcourt duo of Darren Jones and Josh Miller — and Bowie State’s Duke Crews.

Jones and Miller was arguably the best backcourt tandem in the nation, leading the Yellow Jackets to the WVIAC Tournament Championship. Both were first team All-WVIAC selections as well as National Association of Basketball Coaches Division II All-Atlantic Region.

Jones, who was also voted as the BTRC/BASN Offensive Player of the Year, was second in the conference in scoring (20.6) and third in assists (5.5), while averaging 5.8 rebounds per game and shooting 42 percent from three-point range.

Miller averaged 19.7 points per game and 5.1 assists per game.

Crews, the CIAA Player of the Year who was also voted the BTRC/BASN Defensive Player of the Year, was considered the most dominate low post player in the conference. He averaged 16.5 points and led the conference in rebounding with 9.9 per game and was second in blocks (2.4). As for the second team, Sharif Bray of Cheyney, Braxton Byerson of Virginia Union, and Eric Salley of Claflin make up the backcourt, while the frontcourt consists of Johnson C. Smith’s Jerry Hollis and Shaw’s Rodney Callwood.

Callwood was the CIAA’s third leading scorer averaging 17.5 points per game.

2009-10 HBCU Division II/NAIA All-America Team

First Team Backcourt

Darren Jones, West Virginia State (Sr., 5-9, Cleveland, OH); Chris Jordan Saint Augustine’s (Sr., 6-3, Houston, TX); Josh Miller, West Virginia State (Jr., 5-6, Charleston, WV).


Duke Crews, Bowie State (Sr., 6-8, Hampton, VA); Hayward Fain, Saint Augustine’s (Jr., 6-5, Akron, OH).

Second Team Backcourt

Sharif Bray, Cheyney (Jr., 6-3, Philadelphia, PA); Braxton Byerson Virginia Union (Jr., 6-3, Colonial Heights, VA); Eric Salley, Claflin (Jr., 6-2, Smoaks, SC).

Frontcourt Rodney Callwood, Shaw (Sr., 6-6, Long Island, NY); Jerry Hollis, Johnson C. Smith (Sr., 6-5, Charlotte, NC) Honorable Mention Jason Burke-Kavros, Paul Quinn (Sr., 6-4, Salt Lake City, UT); Catrell Currie, Langston (Jr., 6-0, Houston, TX); James Dillard, Johnson C. Smith (Sr., 6-5, Apex, NC); Lionel Green, Southern-New Orleans (Sr., 6-5, New Orleans, LA); LeDarius Johnson, LeMoyne-Owen (Sr., 6-3, Memphis, TN); Najee Lane, Clark Atlanta (Jr., 6-4, Trenton, NJ); Andre Nelson, Tuskegee (Jr., 6-6, Selma, AL); Jaleel Nelson, Chowan (Sr., 6-4, Suffolk, VA); Lajay Sears, Stillman (Jr., 6-4, Decatur, AL) AWARDS Offensive Player of the Year: Darren Jones, West Virginia State Defensive Player of the Year: Duke Crews, Bowie State Coach of the Year: Lonnie Blow, Saint Augustine’s