More Honors For The Bears

By Tony McClean, BASN Editor In Chief
Updated: April 6, 2010

NEW YORK (BASN) — The honors keep coming in for Morgan State head coach Todd Bozeman and his Bears. Two members of the two-time MEAC champions — Reggie Holmes and Kevin Thompson — were among the members of this year’s HBCU Division I All-America Basketball team which was announced Monday. The team was voted on by selected members of the media who cover HBCU basketball. Bozeman was tabbed as the BTRC/BASN Coach of The Year for a second straight season. He led the Bears (27-10) back to the NCAA Tournament for the second straight season and became the first repeat MEAC champion since Hampton in 2001 and ’02. The 2009-10 MEAC Player of the Year, Holmes led the MEAC in scoring and completed the regular season by averaging 21.8 points per game (10th best in the nation) and 784 points scored (second best in the nation). He became the Bears’ all-time leading scorer with 2,051 points and scored 30 or more points six times during the season. Holmes led the MEAC in made 3-point field goals (88) and ranked No. 2 in free-throws (.821) and No. 11 in steals (1.4 spg). The 2009 MEAC Tournament MVP and a 2009 selection to the BTRC/BASN second team, Holmes was also named to the 2010 MEAC First-Team and tabbed as this year’s BTRC/BASN Offensive Player of the Year. As for Thompson, the 2009-10 MEAC’s Defensive Player of the Year was the league’s most dominant post player. Only a sophomore, Thompson led the MEAC with 11.9 rebounds per game (fourth best in the nation), and completed the season with 22 double-doubles (points & rebounds), third best in the NCAA Division I. This year’s MEAC Tournament MVP, Thompson has also been tabbed as this year’s BTRC/BASN Defensive Player of the Year. The Morgan pair are joined on the first team by Garrison Johnson of Jackson State, South Carolina State’s Jason Flagler, and Darnell Hugee of Prairie View A&M. The SWAC’s 2009-10 Defensive Player of the Year, Hugee ranked fourth in the league in scoring (15.2), third in field goal percentage (54.2), tied for the lead in blocked shots (1.9/gm), and 11th in rebounding (5.8). As for the second team, a pair of MEAC standouts — Michael Deloach of Norfolk State and C.J. Reed of Bethune-Cookman — make up the backcourt. The frontcourt consists of Tramayne Moorer of Alabama State, Tennessee State’s Robert Covington, and Tyrone Hanson of Jackson State. A 2009-10 member of the Ohio Valley Conference All-Freshman team, Covington finished as the Tigers’ second leading scorer (10.9 ppg) and top rebounder (6.3 rpg). He was named OVC Freshman of the Week twice during the season. 2009-10 HBCU All-America Team First Team Reggie Holmes, Morgan State (Sr., 6-4, 180, Baltimore, Md.); Garrison Johnson, Jackson State (6-5, 195, Sr., Smyrna, Ga.); Jason Flagler, South Carolina State (Sr., 6-4, 185, Woodbridge, Va.); Darnell Hugee, Prairie View A&M (6-7, 205, Sr., Brooklyn, N.Y.); Kevin Thompson, Morgan State (So., 6-9, 235, Baltimore, Md.) Second Team Michael Deloach, Norfolk State (Sr., 6-0, 175, Rocky Mount, N.C.); C.J. Reed, Bethune-Cookman (So., 6-3, 175, Daytona Beach, Fl.); Tramayne Moorer, Alabama State (6-5, 220, Sr., Haynesville, Al.); Robert Covington, Tennessee State (6-8, 190, Fr., Bellwood, Ill.); Tyrone Hanson, Jackson State (6-7, 200, Jr., Brooklyn, N.Y.) Honorable Mention C.J. Wilkerson, North Carolina Central (6-3, 200, Jr., Oxford, N.C.); Menji Mundadi, Alabama State (6-3, 195, Sr., Chicago, Ill.); Paul Davis, Winston-Salem State (6-9, 195, Jr., Clio, S.C.); Shannon Behling, Mississippi Valley State (6-7, 200, Jr., Columbia, S.C.). AWARDS Offensive Player of the Year: Reggie Holmes, Morgan State Defensive Player of the Year: Kevin Thompson, Morgan State Coach of the Year: Todd Bozeman, Morgan State.