SWAC announces 2010 hoop honors

By SWAC Media Relations
Updated: March 13, 2010

BOSSIER CITY, La. — The Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC) announced its 2009-10 men’s and women’s Basketball All-Conference honors which were voted on by the league’s coaches and sports information departments, and selected members of the media.

Jackson State’s Garrison Johnson voted as the men’s Player of the Year, and Prairie View A&M’s Darnell Hugee was voted the Defensive Player of the Year.

Johnson, a 6-foot-5, 190-pound senior from Smyrna Ga., led the SWAC in scoring (17.3 ppg), was eighth in both free throw percentage (73.2) and three-point free throw percentage (34.8), fourth in three’s made per game (2.2), and third in minutes played (33.5/gm).

He posted a pair of double-double games, and had a conference-high 12 20-point games, including a season-high 30 points vs. Mississippi Valley St. Jan.


Hugee (6-foot-7, 205, SR, Brooklyn, N.Y.) ranked fourth in the league in scoring (15.2), third in field goal percentage (54.2), tied for the lead in blocked shots (1.9/gm), and 11th in rebounding (5.8).

His efforts helped the Panthers rank first in the conference in points allowed, lowest field goal percentage, and lowest three-point field goal percentage. Hugee had a season high eight blocks vs Alabama A&M on Jan. 30 .

Tyrone Hanson of Jackson State was named Newcomer of the Year and Aaron Clayborn of Texas Southern was named Freshman of the Year.

Hanson (6-foot-7, 200, SR, Brooklyn, N.Y.), averaged 11.5 points, and 4.7 rebounds for the Tigers. He had 16 double-figure games this season, highlighted by a 23-point effort vs. Spring Hill on Dec.


Clayborn (6-foot-6, 215, FR, Benton Harbor, Mi.), averaged 5.2 points and 3.5 rebounds a game. He posted four double-figure games, including a season-high 18 points vs. Grambling St. on Feb. 13.


Alabama A&M’s Katrich Williams voted as the Player and Defensive Player of the Year and Grambling State’s Donnita Rogers selected as the Coach of the Year.

Williams — a 5-foot-8 senior guard — has been named the 2010 Player and Defensive Player of the Year. Williams had a standout year for the Bulldogs as she led the conference in scoring, averaging 17.7 points per game.

The Chattanooga, Tenn. native also led the SWAC in free-throw percentage (.807), was second in 3-point field goals made (1.9 per game), and fourth in steals (2.4 per game).

Williams had a conference-best 11 games with 20 points or more for AAMU.

Alcorn State’s Carolinsia Crumbly has been selected the 2010 Freshman of the Year. The 5-foot-5 guard was the second-leading scorer on her team this season and 13th in the SWAC with a 10.0 scoring average.

She was third in the conference in free throw percentage (.783), seventh in steals (2.3 per game) and 11th in 3-point field goals made (1.0 per game). Her efforts helped the Lady Braves clinch the No. 6 seed in the tournament while making its first tournament appearance since 2008.

Jasmine Abrams of the Univ. of Arkansas-Pine Bluff has been voted the 2010 Newcomer of the Year. A 6-foot-1 junior forward, Abrams was the second-leading scorer on her team this year and 11th in the conference, averaging 10.6 points per game.

The Columbus, Ms. native also ranked fifth in the SWAC in rebounding (6.4 per game), second in blocks (1.6 per game), fifth in defensive rebounds (4.3 per game) and 15th in offensive rebounding (2.1 per game).

Grambling State’s Donnita Rogers has been selected the 2010 Coach of the Year by the SWAC women’s basketball head coaches.

Rogers lead her team to a 10-8 conference record this season including a seven-game mid-season winning streak that helped her squad secure the No. 4 seed in the 2010 Farmers Insurance SWAC Tournament.