Panther Legend To Honored

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: January 3, 2010

VIRGINIA — Former Virginia Union basketball coach Dave Robbins will be one of eight inductees in the Class of 2010 of the Virginia Sports Hall of Fame.

Robbins led the Panthers to three Division II national titles and his 713-194 career records spans over three decades and makes him the winningest college basketball coach in Virginia history.

His record at VUU was 693-175.

Other inductees, chosen by a vote of a statewide Honors Court Committee are:

— Whitney Hedgepeth, All-American swimmer at University of Texas and Olympic Gold medalist.

— Alonzo Mourning, Georgetown University All-American, NBA All-Star and Olympic Gold Medalist in 2000.

— Jim Dombrowski, member of the College Football Hall of Fame and 11-year career in the NFL with the New Orleans Saints.

— Larry Peccatiello, William and Mary Hall of Fame football inductee and 40-year professional coaching career in the NFL.

— Helmut Werner, All-American soccer player at Lynchburg College and 43-year coaching career at Randolph Macon College.

— Jim Ducibella, Virginia Press Association Award recipient and over 20 years of coverage of professional football and golf.

“The Class of 2010 brings eight of the most impressive résumés we have ever seen,” says Hall of Fame President Eddie Webb. “These individuals exemplify the Commonwealth’s diversity in sports from swimming to football, as well as decades of achievement.”