Another Honor For Frazier

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: December 19, 2009
CHATTANOOGA, Tn. — Prairie View A&M head football coach Henry Frazier was voted the Eddie Robinson FCS National Coach of the Year at the 23rd annual Sports Network Football Championship Awards Banquet this past Thursday night.
Frazier became the first HBCU coach to win the Eddie Robinson Award, established in 1987 in honor of the former Grambling State head coach and College Football Hall of Famer who retired as college football’s all-time winningest coach with 408 victories.
“It is a humbling honor,” said Frazier, who has posted a 36-27 record at PV in his six seasons as head coach, including an impressive 25-5 mark over the past three seasons that concluded with the 2009 SWAC Football Championship.

“It’s a great honor to be considered the top coach in your conference and it’s an even greater honor to be considered the top coach in the country.”

Frazier, who earned SWAC Coach of the Year honors after the Panthers’ 30-24 win over Alabama A&M in the Farmers Insurance SWAC Football Championship last Saturday, won the national award in the second-closest vote ever.

Frazier, who was also named the Coach of The Year earlier this week, edged Stephen F. Austin head coach J.C. Harper 237-235, in voting done by a panel of sports information directors and media who regularly cover the FCS.

The Panthers were ranked 18th in the final regular season Sports Network Poll, the highest ranking ever by a PV gridiron team. PV finished second in the final rankings in both the Sheridan Broadcasting Poll and the Polls, narrowly missing out on a Black College Football National Championship.
Additionally, Grambling State DE Christian Anthony finished fourth in voting for the Buck Buchanan Award, presented to the top defensive player in the country.

Anthony, voted the 2009 SWAC Defensive Player of the Year, received the second-highest total of first place votes (19), trailing only the 2009 Buchanan Award winner DE Arthur Moats of James Madison.

Alabama A&M DE Jeremy Maddox was also a finalist for the Buchanan Award, established in 1995 and named in honor of the Grambling State great and College and Pro Football Hall of Famer.

Both Anthony and Maddox were members of the 2009 HBCU All-American team. Anthony was also tabbed as the BTRC/BASN Defensive Player of the Year.

Southern QB Bryant Lee was a finalist for the Walter Payton Award, awarded to the top player in the FCS. The award was established in 1987 and named for the Jackson State legend and Chicago Bear great who earned College and Pro Football Hall of Fame honors.

Quarterback Armanti Edwards of Appalachian State became the first two-time winner of the award . The 6-foot, 185-pound senior signal-caller became the first quarterback in NCAA history to pass for more than 10,000 yards and rush for over 4,000 yards in his career.