The Pioneer Bowl Is Back

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: November 18, 2009

COLUMBIA, S.C. — The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) and the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) have announced that Elizabeth City State University and Tuskegee University have been selected to participate in the 11th Pioneer Bowl.

The game will take place on Saturday, December 5, 2009 at the Charlie W. Johnson Stadium in Columbia, South Carolina, at 2 pm ET.

The ECSU Vikings, led by Head Coach Waverly Tillar, finished the season with a 7-3 overall record and found themselves in the midst of a three-way tie-breaker for a chance at the CIAA’s Eastern Divisional title.

The Golden Tigers, led by Head Coach Willie Slater, won their fourth consecutive SIAC Championship, while holding an 8-2 overall record with one regular season game remaining.

TU is currently ranked third in the latest HBCU Media Top 10 Poll, No. 14 in the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) poll and, third in the latest Sheridan Broadcasting Network (SBN) poll.

This will mark Tuskegee’s eighth Pioneer Bowl appearance while Elizabeth City State will be making their first.

The Pioneer Bowl is the only NCAA sanctioned bowl game involving HBCU athletic conferences. The game features teams from the SIAC and the CIAA. In the last Pioneer Bowl, Tuskegee defeated Virginia Union 58-51 on December 5, 2007.

NOTE: For ticket information, please contact the CIAA Office at (757) 865-0071 ( or the SIAC Office at (770) 908-0482 (