Legacy Award winners announced

By Thomas Harding
Updated: October 25, 2009

KANSAS CITY — Baseball’s two most dominant hitters, the Cardinals’ Albert Pujols and the Twins’ Joe Mauer, were chosen winners of the Oscar Charleston Legacy Awards for their respective leagues for 2009 by the Negro Leagues Baseball Museum.

Pujols and Mauer will join the winners of the Wilbur “Bullet” Rogan Award for the pitchers of the year — the Cardinals’ Chris Carpenter and the Royals’ Zack Grienke — as part of the 2009 class of award winners at the 10th Annual Legacy Awards on January 30 at 8 p.m. ET in the Grand Ballroom of the Kansas City Convention Center.

Proceeds from the event, which launches the museum’s year-long 20th anniversary, will benefit the NLBM in Kansas City.

Pujols, a four-time Charleston Award winner (2003, ’05, 08-09), also earned the Josh Gibson Award for leading the Majors with 47 home runs. Pujols led the NL in slugging percentage at .658, finished second in batting at .327, third in RBIs with 135 and third in walks with 115.

Mauer joined Pujols as the only multiple winners of Legacy Awards, earning the Buck Leonard Award for winning the AL batting championship with a .365 average.

The Marlins’ Hanley Ramirez will receive the NL Buck Leonard Award for his league batting title. The Red Sox’s Jacoby Ellbsury and the Astros’ Michael Bourn will receive James “Cool Papa” Bell Awards for leading their respective leagues in stolen bases.

The Rays’ Carlos Pena and the Yankees’ Mark Teixeira will receive AL Josh Gibson Awards for leading the AL in home runs. Elvis Andrus of the Rangers and Andrew McCutchen of the Pirates will receive Larry Doby Awards for top rookies. The Angels’ Brian Fuentes and the Padres’ Heath Bell will receive Hilton Smith Awards for relievers of the year.

Rockies manager Jim Tracy and Angels manager Mike Scioscia will receive Charles Isham “C.I.” Taylor Awards for managers of the year. Rockies general manager Dan O’Dowd and Mariners GM Jack Zduriencik were chosen Andrew “Rube” Foster Award winners as executives of the year.

In addition, Hall of Fame second baseman and current ESPN baseball analyst Joe Morgan will receive the Jackie Robinson Lifetime Achievement Award. MLB commissioner Bud Selig will receive the Buck O’Neil Award for support of the NLBM.

The Brewers’ Mike Cameron was named John Henry “Pop” Lloyd Award winner in recognition for baseball and community leadership. Claire Smith of ESPN will receive the Sam Lacy Award for baseball writer of the year.