An Expensive Meltdown

By Richard Kent, BASN Staff Reporter
Updated: September 13, 2009

FLUSHING, N.Y. (BASN) — Was Serena right Saturday night in dropping the F-bomb and acting like a jerk? No, not at all. But what is being lost here is the crazy call that led to the incident.

A foot fault, unless it is egregious cannot be called on match point. It simply can’t.

Let’s make an analogy — an NCAA title game in men’s basketball. A player has one free throw to win the game. The ref says that the player stepped over the free throw line before making the shot, which is a violation.

The difference?

The ref swallows his whistle in basketball. That happens all the time. It happens on charging calls. It happens on palming the ball calls. They never get called at the end of the game.

A referee does not want to decide a game. They want the players to do that.

In the Serena-Clijsters match — won by Clijsters 6-4, 7-5 — the proverbial whistle should have been swallowed.The call never should have been made.

Replays did not make the call clear by any means. Unfortunately, it is not one of the calls that is reviewable by the chair umpire or instant replay.

Serena’s reaction was wrong. The kids sitting near her outburst heard far too much out of her mouth. Television muffled much of what she said. However, two wrongs don’t make a right.

No one was right on Saturday night at the Open.