MEAC preseason honors are announced

By MEAC Media Relations
Updated: August 1, 2009

MEAC NEWPORT NEWS, Va. — South Carolina State’s Will Ford and Norfolk State’s Terrell Whitehead earned the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference’s (MEAC) top football preseason awards, as announced by the league this past Friday afternoon at the Newport News Marriott.

Ford was selected as the preseason Offensive Player of the Year for the second straight year while Whitehead was named the preseason Defensive Player of the Year as voted on by the conference’s Head Coaches and Sports Information Directors.

Both Ford and Whitehead were members of the 2008 HBCU All-America team. Ford was also tabbed as the BTRC/BASN Offensive Player of the Year last year as well.

For the third straight year, South Carolina State was picked to win the MEAC title. The defending champion Bulldogs are coming of a 10-3 season that included an unblemished 8-0 mark in conference play.

Ford, the 2008 MEAC Offensive Player of the Year, led the MEAC and ranked 13th in the nation in rushing with 1,499 touchdowns. The senior, who earned All-MEAC first team honors and was a second team All-American selection, averaged 6.1 yards per carry with 13 touchdowns a year ago.

Whitehead earned the Defensive Player of the Year honor after leading the Spartans with 83 tackles (44 solo) in 2008. He finished tied for third in the conference in passes defended with four interceptions and 11 pass deflections.

Florida A&M led all teams with eight players on the preseason All-MEAC first team. The Rattlers also had three second team selections for a total of 11.

South Carolina State had a total of eight selections on both teams; five were recognized on the first team. Norfolk State and Morgan State had seven total selections each.