Another Honor For Renee??

By Lori Riley
Updated: August 4, 2009

HARTFORD — Former UConn All-American Renee Montgomery has been named as one of the 10 finalists for the Women’s Sports Foundation Sportswoman of the Year award in the team category.

The WSF honors an individual and a member of a team each year based on exceptional performance during a 12-month time span. Other team award nominees include Brazilian soccer player Marta Vieira da Silva, U.S.

Open women’s doubles champions Cara Black and Liezel Huber and Nicole Fawcett, who helped her Penn State volleyball team win back to back NCAA championships.

Montgomery, who helped lead UConn to an undefeated season and its sixth national title, is averaging 7.9 points and 1.9 assists in her rookie season with the Minnesota Lynx.

Rebecca Lobo (1995) and Sue Bird (2002), who led UConn to its previous two undefeated seasons, are past winners of the Women’s Sports Foundation team award.

Fans will have the opportunity to vote for the winner by visiting the Women’s Sports Foundation website, Fans can vote until midnight Monday, August 9 and the winner will be notified August 14.

The award will be presented at the Annual Salute to Women in Sports dinner Oct. 13 in New York City.