CIAA preseason honors are announced

By CIAA Media Relations
Updated: July 27, 2009

PETERSBURG, Va. — The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association announced its Pre-season All-CIAA Football Team and Predicted Order of Finish at the Football Press Conference and Luncheon, last Thursday afternoon.

This year’s press conference featured the 2009 season theme, “Celebrating 10 Years: The Return of the CIAA Football Championship Game.”

Fayetteville State University was predicted No. 1 amongst its members by its Football Coaches. The Broncos, who had five players named to the All-CIAA team, will have a similar theme, “A Decade of Excellence”, with Head Coach Kenny Phillips continuing into his tenth season with the Broncos.

The 2008 conference champion, Shaw University, was predicted to finish in a second place tie with Elizabeth City State University.

Fayetteville State will open the season on Saturday, August 29 in Luther “Nick” Jeralds Stadium. The Broncos will play host to the Braves of UNC-Pembroke in the “Two Rivers Classic”.

Kickoff is slated for 6:00 pm.

Each football coach was interviewed by Stan Lewter of the Urban Sports and Entertainment Group as they shared their outlooks for the upcoming year.

The All-CIAA Pre-Season Team and Predicted Order of Finish are listed below:

(As selected by the CIAA Football Coaches Association)

1. Fayetteville State University **2. Elizabeth City State University Shaw University 4. St. Augustine’s College 5. Virginia Union University 6. Virginia State University 7. Bowie State University 8. St. Paul’s College 9. Livingstone College 10. Chowan University 11. Johnson C. Smith University 12. Lincoln University **-Tied for Second Place.