Payton, Tigers Are Headed To Texas

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: May 5, 2009

JACKSON, Miss. — The Jackson State men’s golf team learned that it will travel to Austin, Texas to participate in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments from May 14-16, when the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee announced the selected teams and individual to participate in the NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships Monday.

The tournament will be hosted by the University of Texas Longhorns. The Tigers are participating in their 11th NCAA tournament under head coach Eddie Payton. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams will advance to the finals from each regional.

The championships will be conducted May 26-30 at the Inverness Club in Toledo, Ohio. The University of Toledo is the host institution for this year’s championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by their conferences in parenthesis.

University of Texas Golf Club: Austin, Texas

Hosted by the University of Texas

Teams (seeded in the following order):

1. Stanford, 2. Florida, 3. Texas Tech, 4. Texas, 5. UNLV, 6. California 7. Lamar (Southland Conference), 8. Michigan, 9. Texas-Arlington, 10. Virginia Tech, 11. Mississippi State, 12. New Mexico State (Western Athletic Conference), 13. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)


1. Glenn Northcutt, Auburn; 2. Ken Looper, New Orleans; 3. Cole Moreland, Auburn; 4. Adam Cornelson, New Orleans; 5. Cedric Scotto, Southeastern Louisiana.

6. Jeff Gerlich, Texas State; 7. Matthew Carvell, Southeastern Louisiana; 8. Corey Roberson, Texas State; 9. Fergal Rafferty, Sam Houston; 10. Gonzalo Berlin, Jacksonville State.