This Week’s Houston Sports Notebook

By Yolande Lezine
Updated: April 1, 2009

Sports HOUSTON — A brief look at some of the most recent news and notes involving area and national sports figures.

— The Yates Lions captured the boys and girls track and field championships in the annual Pat Patterson Relays held at Barnett Stadium. The Lions boys track team tallied 239 points. North Forest finished second with 108 and Stafford finshed third with 94.

— The Yates girls slipped past North Forest to capture the girls track championship 134-130. Kashmere finished third with 47, followed by Washington, Reagan, and Stafford.

— KTBU-TV (Channel 55) and High School Sports Live held their annual Slammy Awards last week and here is a look at the results voted on by the fans throughout the Greater Houston area.

Over 57,000 fans went online to cast a vote. The awards and winners are listed as follows:

— Best Individual Performer Male: Joey Brooks, Strake Jesuit High School — Most Surprising Men’s Team: Tomball Cougars — Most Surprising Girls Team: Katy Taylor Mustangs — Best Individual Performer Female: Brittney Griner, Nimitz High School — Best Girls Team: College Park Cavaliers — Best Team in Boys Basketball: Strake Jesuit Crusaders — Best Fans: Seven Lakes Crazies — Best Slam Dunker: Tim Frazier, Strake Jesuit Crusaders — Best in State: The Yates Lions boys basketball team.

— Prairie View A & M University hosted the 80th annual Hoover Wright-Barbara Jacket Relays this past weekend featuring over 30 high schools from the surrounding area and several collegiate programs as well.

— The Texas Southern University Women’s basketball program is projected to have one of the top HBCU recruiting classes of 2009 according to All-Star Girls Report (ASGR). New ranks show TSU second among black college NCAA Division I programs.

The 143 national ranking out of 305 ranked Division I schools, also puts the Lady Tigers women’s basketball program over all other SWAC 2009 recruiting classes.

Here are the members of the TSU 2009 recruiting class and their rankings:

No. 64: Brittany Hilliard, 5-feet-11, shooting guard (JUCO transfer) No. 69: Sara Stewart, 5-feet-10, shooting guard (JUCO transfer) No. 311: Tanija Beasley, 5-feet-9, shooting guard No. 566: Krissic Harper, 5-feet-4, point guard (Waco Midway High) Transfer: Jackie Sanders, 6-feet-2, power (Kentucky).

— In partnership with Toyota, the NBA and the Houston Rockets teamed up to create a Reading & Learning Center at Houston Gardens Elementary School. Basketball Hall of Famer Bob Lanier and NBA legend Clyde Drexler joined Rockets CEO Tad Brown to help cut the ribbon on the new center and join students in helping them explore the space and try out the brand new technology equipment.

— The Rockets have also teamed up with Memorial Herman Hospital to debut the Rockets Lounge at Children’s Memorial Hospital last Friday. Rockets forward Chuck Hayes and CEO Tad Brown joined Craig Cordola-CEO of Children’s Memorial Herman Hospital. Hayes and Brown also took time to visit with ill patients on the floor.

— Oklahoma sophomore sensation Blake Griffin has been named the 2009 Oscar Robertson Trophy winner as the best college basketball player in the nation.

The 6-feet-10,251-pound Griffin was a unanimous choice by voters in all nine geographical districts of the USBWA to give the University of Oklahoma the school’s first-ever player of the year award winner. He was chosen from a group of 15 finalists.

Griffin led the Sooners to a 30-6 record, losing to North Carolina in the South Regional Final. He finished the season averaging 22.7 points, 14.4 rebounds while shooting 65.4 percent from the field for the year.

— The Oscar Robertson Trophy will be presented by Oscar Robertson on Friday at the USBWA’s annual awards breakfast at the downtown Detroit Athletic Club in conjunction with the Men’s Final Four.

The breakfast will also honor Kansas coach Bill Self, winner of the Henry Iba Award as the association’s coach of the year, as well as the 1979 Michigan State national championship team that was led by Earvin “Magic” Johnson. Michigan State coach Tom Izzo will also receive the USBWA’s Good Guy Award.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is voted on by the entire membership of the association which consists of nearly 800 journalists. It is the nation’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player.