CIAA schools look to leave mark on links

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: April 26, 2009

HAMPTON, Va. – CIAA Champion Fayetteville State and Runner up Virginia State have been selected to participate in regional competition of the 2009 NCAA Division II Men’s Golf Championships.

There will be four regional sites in which two regions will meet and conduct regional tournaments. 90 teams and 32 individuals have been selected to participate.

The Broncos and Trojans were the only HBCUs selected and will play in the Atlantic/East Regional at The Glade Springs Resort Golf Club; Beckley, West Virginia. Regional play begins May 4.

The top five teams and the top two individuals not with a team from each regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 19-22 at Loomis Trail Golf Club in Blaine, Washington.

The finals will be hosted by Western Washington University. Regional competitions will be conducted May 4-6. The sites and teams selected to participate are listed below. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institution’s name.


The Glade Springs Resort Golf Club; Beckley, West Virginia; hosted by Concord University and the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

Atlantic Region:

1. Fayetteville State (CIAA), 2. Ohio Valley, 3. Concord, 4. Indiana (Pennsylvania), 5. Charleston (West Virginia).

6. Clarion, 7. California (Pennsylvania), 8. Virginia State, 9. Fairmont State (West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference), 10. West Liberty State.


1. Darryn Deshong, Millersville; 2. Tyler Bidwell, Mercyhurst; 3. Josh Arbaugh, West Virginia Wesleyan; 4. Mark Johnson, West Virginia Wesleyan.