BTRC/BASN announces Div. I hoop teams

By Tony McClean
Updated: April 20, 2009

NEW HAVEN, Ct. — Coppin State’s Tywain McKee of Coppin State and sensational freshman Jamar Briscoe of North Carolina Central are among the members of the Inaugural HBCU Division I All-America Basketball team which was announced Monday.

Joining McKee and Briscoe on the first team back court is senior Michael DeLoach of Norfolk State. The first team front court consists of Jackson State junior Grant Maxey, senior Jason Johnson of South Carolina State, and junior Darnell Hugee of Prairie View A&M.

Johnson, who led the MEAC in rebounding, was named BTRC/BASN’s Defensive Player of The Year. The 6-foot-7 senior from Bronx, N.Y., Johnson also averaged 13.8 points per game for the Bulldogs.

Named 2009 MEAC Player of the Year, McKee led the Eagles in scoring (18.2, second in the MEAC), rebounding (5.7), assists (4.0) and steals (2.9). The 6-foot-2 senior from Philadelphia was tabbed as BTRC/BASN’s Player of the Year as well.

A native of Baltimore, the 5-foot-10 Briscoe became first the NCCU freshman to score over 500 points finishing with 535 points. He led the team in scoring with 17.8 points per game and assists with 79.

As for the second team, Morgan State junior Reggie Holmes and senior Brandon Brooks of Alabama State make up the back court. Jackson State’s Jeremy Caldwell, Neal Pitt of Maryland-Eastern Shore and Corey Lyons of Norfolk State are the front court second teamers.

In other awards, Morgan State’s Todd Bozeman was tabbed as BTRC/BASN’s Coach of the Year. The Bears went 23-12 en route to a regular season and tournament MEAC championship.

Under Bozeman, who was also tabbed as the winner of the national Hugh Durham Coaches Award, Morgan completed the best season in school history since becoming a Division I program.

On the heels of BASN’s two-year collaboration with DWCommunications, LLC on the HBCU Top 10 Football poll, the 2008-09 season marked the release of the inaugural basketball polls and All-America teams.

There will be two separate teams announced — one for NCAA Division I schools and one for non-Division I schools (including Division II, Division III and NAIA Divisions I and II).

The non-Division I team will be announced later this week. The team is voted on by writers and media members who cover HBCU basketball from around the country.



First Team

Back Court

Tywain McKee, Coppin State (6-2, Senior, Philadelphia, Pa.); x-Jamar Briscoe, North Carolina Central (5-10, Freshman, Baltimore, Md.); x-Michael DeLoach, Norfolk St. (6-0, Senior, Rocky Mount, N.C.).

Front Court

Grant Maxey, Jackson State (6-6, Junior, Toledo, Ohio); Jason Johnson, South Carolina State (6-7, Senior, Bronx, N.Y.); Darnell Hugee, Prairie View A.M., (6-7, Junior, Brooklyn, N.Y.).

Second Team

Back Court

Reggie Holmes, Morgan State (6-4, Junior, Baltimore, Md.); Brandon Brooks, Alabama State (6-2, Senior, Irving, Tx.).

Front Court

Jeremy Caldwell, Jackson State (6-8, Senior, Jackson, Ms.); Neal Pitt, Maryland-Eastern Shore (6-6, Junior, Fort Washington, Md.); Corey Lyons, Norfolk State (6-4, Senior, Bronx, N.Y.).

Honorable Mention

Back Court

Darrion Griffin, Jackson State; Chris Davis, Southern.

Front Court

Chief Kickstallionsims, Alabama State; Marquise Kately, Morgan State; Jason Flagler, South Carolina State.

x-tied in voting


Player of The Year: Tywain McKee, Coppin State.

Coach of The Year: Todd Bozeman, Morgan State.

Defensive Player of The Year:Jason Johnson, South Carolina State.