Looking To Leave Her Mark

By Yolande Lezine
Updated: February 17, 2009

HOUSTON — Prairie View A & M University head women’s basketball coach Cynthia Cooper-Dyke is one of 16 finalists for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2009.

The complete list of 16 finalists include: Coach Robert “Bob” Hurley,Sr., former San Antonio Spurs player David Robinson, Dennis Johnson (deceased) Seattle Supersonics, Al Attles-Golden State Warriors, Don Nelson-NBA Coach, former NBA players Chris Mullin, Michael Jordan-Chicago Bulls, Bernard King, and John Stockton-Utah Jazz; Utah Jazz head coach Jerry Sloan, Two-time WNBA player Cynthia Cooper, Rutgers University women’s head coach C. Vivian Stringer and Vladimir Kondrashin (Coach), Maciel “Ubiratan” Periera (Player), Richard Guerin (Player), and Johnny “Red” Kerr (Contributor).

Cooper-Dyke’s induction would be the final exclamation point on an unbelievable playing career that included numerous accomplishments. She was a four-year letter winner at guard for USC from 1982-86 and led the Trojans to back-to-back NCAA tournament titles in 1983 and 1984.

She closed out her collegiate career with an appearance in the 1986 NCAA tournament championship game and a spot on the NCAA Final Four All-Tournament Team.

She ranks eighth on USC’s all-time scoring list with 1,559 points, fifth in assists (381), and third in steals (256). She started her professional career in Europe in 1986 and represented the United States in the Olympic Games in 1988 and 1992.

She returned to the United States to play in the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) in 1997 with the Houston Comets.

Jordan, Robinson, Stockton, Sloan and Cooper-Dyke are Finalists in their first-year of consideration by their respective screening committees. Stringer and Attles are first-time Finalists who have previously been reviewed by screening committees.

The Class of 2009 will be announced on Monday, April 6th at a news conference in Detroit, Michigan prior to the NCAA’s Men’s Championship game. The Class of 2009 will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, Mass. during September 10th-12th.