A Houston trio is set for Phoenix

By Yolande Lezine
Updated: February 3, 2009

All Star Phoenix 2009 HOUSTON — Houston Rockets center Yao Ming and teammates Aaron Brooks and Luis Scola will participate in the NBA All-Star Game Festivities during February 13-15 in Phoenix, Arizona.

Ming, who was named to another consecutive All-Star game appearance, will start for the Western Conference squad.

Joining Ming will be Los Angeles Lakers guard Kobe Bryant, San Antonio Spurs forward Tim Duncan, New Orleans Hornets point guard Chris Paul and Phoenix Suns forward Amare Stoudemire.

Other reserves rounding out the Western Conference team include: Chauncey Billups, Denver Nuggets; Pau Gasol, Los Angeles Lakers; Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks; Shaquille O’Neal, Phoenix Suns; Tony Parker, San Antonio Spurs; Brandon Roy, Portland Trailblazers, and David West, New Orleans Hornets.

The Rockets may only have one starter on the roster, but he won’t be the only Houston representatives. Brooks and Scola were two of 18 players selected to participate in the 2009 T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam to be held on Friday, February 13th.

Brooks and Scola will be joined on the Sophomore team by Oklahoma City forwards Kevin Durant and Jeff Green, Atlanta forward Al Horford, Los Angeles Clippers forward Al Thornton, Philadelphia forward Thaddeus Young, New York forward Wilson Chandler and Detroit guard Rodney Stuckey.

The annual contest held during NBA All-Star Weekend pits a select group of rookies against the top sophomores in the NBA. The participants in the T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam were selected by the NBA’s assistant coaches, with each team submitting one ballot.

The T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam will be televised live nationally on TNT, as well as broadcast live on ESPN Radio.