Seeking A Trip To Miami

By Yolande Lezine
Updated: January 14, 2009

HOUSTON — The 2009 McDonald’s All-American game scheduled for Wednesday, April 1st in Miami, Florida recently announced their first set of nominees.

50 girls have been nominated from the state of Texas, with 22 of them coming from the Greater Houston Area. A total of 91 boys have been nominated from the lone star state with 30 of them coming from Houston.

The tradition continues on April 1st at the Bank United Center on the campus of the University of Miami, as the top high school basketball talent in the nation takes center stage to help raise money for the Ronald McDonald House Charities.

Although hundreds of talented high school basketball players from across the country have been nominated only 48 of them will play in the all star games.

These 48 future NCAA, NBA, and WNBA superstars will rely on years of practice and natural talent as they tip off the 32nd annual Boys game and the 8th annual Girls game.

A selection committee will pick the top 24 boys and girls from across the nation to play in the game. They will be split on two teams of 12.

The girls nominees from the Greater Houston area include: Marissa Ashton, Dickinson; Sherrie Bennett, Klein Collins; Kelsey Bone, Dulles; Gevenia Carter, Westfield; Korean Davenport, Washington; Annette Davis, Bellaire; Jessica Diamond, Nimitz; Donna Dike, Westside; Lauren Flores, North Shore; Diamond Ford, Hightower; Brittney Griner, Nimitz; Jasmin Henderson, Dulles; Dawn Kiel, Cy Creek; Allie Messimer, College Park; Clarissa Moore, Eisenhower; Tangekur Payne, Conroe; Michelle Price, Kingwood; Zoe Rogers, Bellaire; Waltia Rolle, Westbury Christian; Monique Smalls, College Park; Chynna Turner, Eisenhower; and Amanda Anderson, College Park.

The 30 boys nominated from the Greater Houston were highlighted by eight players coming from the Houston Independent School District and eight from various Private School.

The boys nominees are listed as follows: Joey Brooks, Strake Jesuit; Mark Brooks, Westfield; Garrett Brown, Angleton; Josef Brown, Wheatley; Henry Buckley, Wheatley; Junior Cadougan, Christian Life; Garrett Constance, The Woodlands; Carlos Cook, Wheatley; Mike Davis, Wheatley; Miles Dixon, Elkins; Jamal Fenton, Chavez; Tim Frazier, Strake Jesuit; Darius Goff, Eisenhower; Darien Harris, Pearland; Dre Harrison, Dulles; Willie Jefferson, Beaumont Ozen; Derek Johnson, Woodlands Christian Academy; Blake Jolivette, St. Thomas; Kyree Jones, Christian Life; Cartavious Kincade, Baytown Sterling; Kelly Lawson, Pearland; Tommy Mason, Griffin-Madison; Kenny Onyechi, Kempner; Raymond Penn, Fort Bend Travis; Kevin Perry, Westbury Christian; Steven Rogers, Strake Jesuit; Kelcey Solomon, Worthing; Ray Turner, Jones; Lanard Whittington, Beaumont Westbrook, and Erik Williams, Cypress Springs.

NOTE: For a complete state-by-state listing of nominees, log on to