MEAC Announces 2008 Football Honors

By MEAC Media Relations
Updated: December 3, 2008

MEAC VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. — South Carolina State running back Will Ford was selected as the MEAC’s Offensive Player of the Year and Morgan State’s Jarrell Guyton earned the Defensive Player of the Year honor, as voted by the league’s head football coaches and sports information directors.

Willie Carter of Howard earned the Rookie of the Year award and South Carolina State’s Raymond Harrison was selected as the Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Coach of the Year honors went to South Carolina State head coach Buddy Pough who led the Bulldogs to their first playoff berth in 26 years. Under Pough’s guidance, the Bulldogs finished the season with a 10-3 overall mark and clinched the MEAC title with an unblemished 8-0 conference record.

The Bulldogs ranked in the top 10 of three FCS statistical categories including tackles for loss (4th), sacks allowed (6th), and scoring defense (9th).

Ford led the MEAC in rushing with 1,499 yards and was tied for third in the conference in scoring (78 points). He carried the ball 246 times for an average of 115.3 yards and accounted for 13 touchdowns.

A junior from Travelers Rest, S.C., Ford is just 1,009 yards away from becoming the MEAC’s all-time leading rusher. The Preseason Player of the Year honoree, he received the Rookie of the Year award in 2006 and was recently named a finalist for the Walter Payton Award.

Guyton earned the MEAC’s Defensive Player of the Year honor after leading one of the most dominating defensive units in the FCS. For the second year in a row, Morgan State led the FCS in total defense giving up less than 213.4 yards per game.

Guyton collected 35 solo and 35 unassisted tackles for the Bears this season. He put up numbers in almost every defensive statistical category including 70 total tackles, 13 tackles for a loss of 41 yards, four sacks for a 22 yard loss, one interception for a 22 yards return, three broken up passes, one hurry, and one forced and recovered fumble.

Carter was a key offensive threat for the Howard Bison this season before being sideline with an injury. In just six games of play, he earned two Rookie of the Week honors and caught 44 passes for 477 yards and six touchdowns.

He averaged 10.8 yards per catch and was instrumental in Howard’s pass offense that finished second in the MEAC averaging 218.5 yards.

Harrison was a key performer in one of the most dominating offensive attacks in the MEAC this season. The Bulldogs’ third consecutive Lineman of the Year, Harrison aided SCSU’s offense to 4,972 yards of total offense including 2,651 yards on the ground.

With Harrison at the lead, SCSU posted the league’s top rusher in Ford. Harrison also earned Offensive Lineman of the Week honors two times this season.



Pos Name CL School Hometown

QB Curtis Pulley r-Jr. Florida A&M Hopkinsville, Ky.

RB Will Ford Jr. S.C. State Travelers Rest, S.C.

RB Devan James Jr. Morgan State Pompano Beach, Fla.

TE Octavius Darby Sr. S.C. State Hollywood, Fla.

WR Justin Brown Sr. Hampton Surfside Beach, S.C.

WR Kevin Elliott r-Fr. Florida A&M Orlando, Fla.

OL Robert Okeafor Jr. Florida A&M Jacksonville, Fla.

OL Dennis Conley r-Sr. Hampton Suffolk, Va.

OL Dwayne Delaney Sr. Morgan St. Amelia, Va.

OL Johnny Culbreath So. S.C. State Monroe, Ga.

C Raymond Harrison Sr. S.C. State Columbia, S.C.


DL Justin Lawrence Jr. Morgan State Jetersville, Va.

DL Cedric Lloyd Sr. S.C. State Manning, S.C.

DL Chris Baker Jr. Hampton Windsor, Conn.

DL Dennis Marsh r-Sr. Norfolk St. Greensboro, NC LB Jarrell Guyton Sr. Morgan State Miami, Fla.

LB Travis Roland r-Sr. Bethune-Cookman Daytona Beach, Fla.

LB Endor Cooper Sr. Howard Woodbridge, Va.

DB Terrell Whitehead Jr. Norfolk State Virginia Beach, Va.

DB Markee Hamlin Jr. S.C. State Lamar, S.C.

DB Chris Williams Sr. Morgan State Miami, Fla.

DB Darren McKhan Jr. Morgan State Miami, Fla.

P Jahmal Blanchard Jr. Hampton Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

P/K Justin Castellat Jr. Norfolk St. Virginia Beach, Va.

Ret LeRoy Vann Jr. Florida A&M Tampa, Fla.



Pos Name CL School Hometown

QB Herbert Bynes r-So. Hampton Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.

RB DeAngelo Branche r-So. Norfolk State Norfolk, Va.

RB Brian Sulmer Jr. Bethune-Cookman Jacksonville, Fla.

RB Philip Sylvester So. Florida A&M Marianna, Fla.

TE Taj Jenkines Jr. Florida A&M Jacksonville, Fla.

WR Oliver “Tre” Young Jr. S.C. State Charleston, S.C.

WR Jeremy Gilchrist r-Sr. Hampton Virginia Beach, Va.

WR Willie Carter Fr. Howard Denmark, S.C.

OL Ruebin Mordecai III r-Sr. Bethune-Cookman Daytona Beach, Fla.

OL Nygel Pearson Sr. S.C. State Darlington, S.C.

OL Adrian Brown Sr. Delaware St. Baltimore, Md.

OL Anthony Collins r-Jr. Florida A&M Miami, Fla.

OL Robert Norris Jr. Morgan State Cheltenham, Md.

C Ryan Cave Jr. Hampton Beaufort, S.C.


DL Cameron Houston Jr. Florida A&M Rockledge, Fla.

DL Keyon Brooks Sr. S.C. State Miami, Fla.

DL Kendrick Ellis So. Hampton West Palm Beach, Fla.

DL Dexter Jackson Jr. Bethune-Cookman Jacksonville, Fla.

LB Wakeem Goode Sr. Hampton Cleveland, Ohio LB Tony White Sr. S.C. State Seneca, S.C.

LB Marshall McFadden Sr. S.C. State Lamar, S.C.

DB Curtis Holcomb So. Florida A&M Miami, Fla.

DB Antonio Cox Jr. Bethune-Cookman Miami, Fla.

DB Antwane Cox Jr. Bethune-Cookman Miami, Fla.

DB Don Carey Sr. Norfolk State Norfolk, Va.

DB Jonathan Wade So. Hampton Richmond, Va.

P Justin Keable r-So. Bethune-Cookman Deland, Fla.

P/K Carlo Turvani So. Hampton Ontario, Canada Ret Kevin Teel Sr. Hampton Bowie, Md.


Offensive Player of the Year: Will Ford, South Carolina St.

Defensive Player of the Year:Jarrell Guyton, Morgan State Rookie of the Year: Willie Carter, Howard Offensive Lineman of the Year: Raymond Harrison, South Carolina St.

Coach of the Year: Buddy Pough, South Carolina St.