SIAC Announces 2008 Football Honors

By SIAC Media Relations
Updated: November 20, 2008

SIAC LOGO TUCKER, Ga. — The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference and the SIAC Football Coaches Association are proud to announce the All Conference Football Team, All Academic Team and Superlative Awards for the 2008 season.

Headlining the list is Jacary Atkinson of Tuskegee University, who was named Offensive Player of the Year and SIAC MVP for consecutive seasons, after leading Tuskegee to consecutive undefeated seasons.

Jeffrey Cargile of Morehouse College was named Defensive Player of the Year en route to leading the NCAA in tackles for a loss and sacks. Both Atkinson and Cargile took home first team honors.

Coach Willie Slater of Tuskegee University took home Coach of the Year after leading his team to an undefeated season, a third consecutive SIAC title and a 26 game winning streak.

The first team all conference includes eight members from the 2008 pre-season team including Jacary Atkinson, Winston Thompson, Robert Smith, Eric Martinear, Michael Stevens, Sammie Hill, Jeffrey Cargile, Dre’Mail Harden and Justin Hannah.

Jacary Atkinson, who was named the MVP and Offensive Player of the year along with his first team selection, led the conference and was tenth in Division II Football in passing efficiency (163.2).

Atkinson also led the conference in passing average per game (244.4), passing yards (2,444), passing touchdowns (23) and total offense averaging 316.6 yards per game.

Atkinson was named Offensive Player of the week six times this season and becomes the first player to win consecutive Offensive Player of the Year and MVP honors in the modern era of the SIAC.

Jeffrey Cargile won the Defensive Player of the Year award after leading Division II and the conference in sacks (12.5). Cargile also led Division II and the conference in tackles for a loss (23.0) and finished the season with 99 tackles. Freshman of the Year honors went to Tyren Futch of Lane College.

Futch had 30 tackles and was named to the second team all conference.

Willie Slater, of Tuskegee University, led his team to a 26 game winning streak, an second consecutive undefeated season thus far and a third consecutive conference title.

Tuskegee and Clark Atlanta led all schools with eight representatives on the All Conference teams followed by Morehouse College with six.

For the second straight year offense highlighted the SIAC All Academic Team with seven out of the eleven players playing an offensive position. Casper Kamau of Kentucky State, Terry McGhee and Mario Fuller of lbany State are the only returning All Academic team members with a 3.91, 3.71 and 3.63 grade point average respectively.

Rakim Trapp-Jackson, a sophomore majoring in Business Administration at Benedict College, led all SIAC football players with a 4.00 GPA. Morehouse led all schools with three (3) members named to the All Academic Team.

In total 55 players in the SIAC were nominated for the All Academic Team all with an Overall GPA of 3.0 or higher.

The SIAC All Conference, All Academic and Superlative Award winners will be formally recognized at the SIAC Football Awards Luncheon on Friday, December 5, 2008 in Columbia, SC at the Embassy Suites Columbia.

The Luncheon will begin promptly at 12:30 pm.