U.S. Women’s Hoop Roster Completed

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: July 11, 2008

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — A pair of Olympic gold medalists, Tamika Catchings (Indiana Fever) and DeLisha Milton-Jones (Los Angeles Sparks), along with Kara Lawson (Sacramento Monarchs), were named by USA Basketball to the 2008 U.S. Olympic Team.

The trio round out the official 12-member USA roster that will head to Beijing in hopes of defending the USA’s string of three consecutive Olympic gold medals. Selections were made by the USA Basketball Women’s Senior National Team Committee, chaired by WNBA chief of basketball operations and player relations Reneé Brown.

“The committee had a difficult time with these final three names because of the level of talent in our pool,” said Brown. “However, ultimately we feel that the experience and leadership that we’ve added to the team in Tamika Catchings, DeLisha Milton-Jones and Kara Lawson are the final pieces to this puzzle.”

“Tamika and DeLisha both know what it takes to be Olympic champions and will help this team defensively. Kara is a tremendous team player who made the most of her opportunities during the FIBA Americas Championship and over the past year has proven herself as a member of this team.”

“I’m thrilled that Tamika, DeLisha and Kara have been added to the team,” said USA head coach Anne Donovan, a three-time Olympian. “Tamika is such a complete player and a tenacious defender who will add much to our already strong Olympic team.”

“DeLisha’s international and Olympic experience is sure to further fortify our inside game. I’m also pleased with the addition of Kara Lawson. Kara’s extensive experience training with the national team these last several years has made her a perfect selection for our team.”

She understands the game and her teammates so well that it’s like having another coach on the floor. All three of these athletes, along with the rest of the team, are comfortable with each other on the court, and know the system that we plan to utilize in Beijing. I’m excited about getting this team together at the end of this month and really focusing on our goal, which of course, is winning the gold medal.”

The first nine members were named to the U.S. squad on May 31, 2008, and include three-time Olympic gold medalist Lisa Leslie (Los Angeles Sparks); two-time Olympic gold medalist Katie Smith (Detroit Shock); 2004 Olympic gold medalists Sue Bird (Seattle Storm), Diana Taurasi (Phoenix Mercury) and Tina Thompson (Houston Comets); and Seimone Augustus (Minnesota Lynx), Sylvia Fowles (Chicago Sky), Candace Parker (Los Angeles Sparks) and Cappie Pondexter (Phoenix Mercury), who will participate in their first Olympic Games this summer.