SIAC Announces Preseason Grid Honors

By SIAC Media Relations
Updated: July 25, 2008

SIAC-logoTUCKER, Ga. — The SIAC Football Coaches Association has voted and is proud to announce the 2008 Preseason All Conference Football Team and Predicted Order of Finish.

Highlighting the list are 29 returning players which ties a record high of returning players that was set year. Defending undefeated HBCU National Champion and SIAC Champion Tuskegee was selected by the Coaches Association to repeat as SIAC Champions.

Tuskegee, who also finished No. 1 in the final 2007 Top 10 HBCU Football Poll, is also ranked No, 23 by USA Today’s Preseason Division II Poll.

All World QB Jacary Atkinson, from Tuskegee University, leads a list of 11 Golden Tigers named to the list including seven players who were named to the first team.

Albany State was second in the conference finishing with eight players named to the list. Jacary led Tuskegee to the No. 3 Scoring Offense in Division II. He also led the NCAA in Passing Efficiency.

Under his control, Tuskegee was also ranked 10th in Total Offense, 16th in Passing Yards and 25th in Passing Yards Per Game in the NCAA. He was also the 2007 Offensive Player of the Year

The preseason first team offense is comprised all of returning players including Atkinson, Winston Thompson (JR/RB Clark Atlanta), Pierre Brown (SR/RB Fort Valley State), Jason English (SR/WR Tuskegee), Derrick Hector (JR/WR Miles), Robert Smith (SR/TE Lane), Jonathan Didier (SR/OL Clark Atlanta), Eric Martinear (JR/OL Lane), Montrell Neal (SR/OL Albany State), Michael Stevens (JR/OL Tuskegee), and Alphonso Johnson (SR/OL Clark Atlanta).

Highlighting the defense are Lindsey Magazine DII All Americans, Jeffrey Cargile (LB/DB/MHC), Jarvis DeVaughn (DL/Tuskegee) and Dre’Mail Harden (DB, Stillman).

Cargile led the 22nd ranked Defense in Division II as he averaged 8.3 total tackles per game last season. Cargile was named to the Lindsey Magazine’s first team while DeVaughn and Harden were named to the second team.

Other notables on the first team Defense include Sammie Hill (SR/DL Stillman), Develle Miller (SO/DL Albany State), Chris Bostock (SR/DL Miles), Darrin Mack (JR/LB Stillman), Cordell Key (JR/LB Kentucky State), Justin Hannah (JR/DB Tuskegee), Terry McGhee (JR/DB Albany State) and Mario Fuller (JR/DB Albany State).

The Special Teams lists include Jamaree Gordon (KR/Kentucky State), Antoine Mitchell (PR/Tuskegee), Matt Sims (PK/Tuskegee) and Micah Streiff (P/Morehouse).

The second team offense is comprised of impact players including Two time All Conference and Four Year Starter Sharrod Ellis (SR/QB, Lane), Andrew Ramsey (SO/RB, Kentucky State) and James Steadman (SR/WR, Morehouse).

For the defense, impact players include Dejuan Payne (SR/DL, Morehouse), Vincent Hill (SR/DB Miles) and Derrick Scott (SR/DB Morehouse).

Tuskegee was chosen as the favorite for the SIAC title followed by Albany State, Fort Valley State, Morehouse and Stillman. Tuskegee was also ranked 23rd by the USA Today College Football Poll, sixth by the Sporting News and 16th by the Lindsey Magazine Top 25.


  1. Tuskegee University
  2. Albany State University
  3. Fort Valley State University
  4. Morehouse College
  5. Stillman College
  6. Miles College
  7. Lane College
  8. Benedict College

Clark Atlanta University

  1. Kentucky State University