It’s Over!

By Francis Walker
Updated: June 4, 2008

Derek Jeter Luis Sojo SHEA STADIUM in FLUSHING, NY — Well, it’s official. Last night at Shea Stadium, the New York Yankees won their third consecutive World Series trophy. The Yankees rallied in the ninth inning on a game-winning, two-RBI double to centerfield by Luis Sojo to beat the New York Mets, 4-2. The Yanks won the series at 4 games to1.

The Yankees, winners of four of the last five World Series Championships, were just as focused, but even more determined than the Mets.

Met-starter Al Leiter kept the Mets in the game by retiring the first two batters in the top of the ninth. Jorge Posada walked on a 3-2 pitch. Then Scott Brosius singled to left. With the game winning-runner on second, Sojo swung at the first pitch. Luckily, it turned out to be the difference in the game. Sojo’s single past Leiter’s glove went down the middle past shortstop Kurt Abbott and past second baseman Edgardo Alfonzo to centerfield. Jay Payton’s throw from centerfield actually hit Posada, as he slid into Met catcher Mike Piazza. The ball then rolled into the Mets dugout. Brosius added an insurance run for the Yanks.

In the bottom of the ninth, the Mets tried to mount one last comeback. With a runner on third, Yankee closer Mariano Rivera forced Piazza to pop out to deep leftfield to end the game.

For the Mets, Leiter pitched well against Andy Pettitte of the Yankees. Leiter lasted 8 2/3 innings, allowing 3 runs on 7 hits, 9 strikeouts and three walks. Pettitte pitched 7 strong innings and allowed two unearned runs in the second inning, struck out 5 and walked 3.

The Yankees scored runs in both the second and sixth innings on solo homers from Bernie Williams and series Most Valuable Player Derek Jeter.