Mayes, Smith Among Inductees For Black Ice Hockey and Sports Hall Of Fame

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: May 18, 2008

Reuben Mayes

Reuben Mayes

NOVA SCOTIA — The third Black Ice Hockey And Sports Hall Of Fame Conference Induction Committee announced the Inductees for the 2008 Black Ice Hockey And Sports Hall of Fame under the category of Builders/Total Sports

Seven individuals will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at this year’s Black Hockey And Sports Hall of Fame Conference scheduled for August 15-16 in Dartmouth, Nova Scotia.

This year’s Inductees are:

Harold Mills – Hydroplane Racing

Tyrone Williams- Dallas Cowboys, NFL

Wayne Smith – British Columbia Lions, CFL

Reuben Mayes – New Orleans Saints, NFL

Beresford Augustus Husbans – Nova Scotia Sports

Brad Barton – International Volleyball

Marjoire Turner-Bailey – 1976 Canadian Olympic Team

NOTE: For more information, please check out the Society of North American Hockey Historians And researchers website at: or you can send an e-mail to