Updated: October 16, 2007

BRISTOL, CT.— While the focus of the sports world in on baseball and football, several HBCU hoop stars will get a pair of chances to display their wares during the next few weeks. The World Basketball Association Foundation will host itsr first National Black College All Star Basketball Showcase in Atlanta. “This is a much needed event that will showcase the top 24 men and the top 24 women athletes from HBCU’s from across the country,” stated Mr. Leroy McMath, President of the World Basketball Association.

“Historically, Black College basketball players have been over looked when it comes to traditional college all-star games, and the WBA Foundation is taking the opportunity to provide a outlet to make this a consistent reality,” McMath continued.

The showcase will be held on the campus of Morehouse College on Saturday, April 24 with a woman’s basketball game at 5 pm ET and the men’s game at 7. The mission of the event is to create an avenue for athletes who have not only achieved academically, but also who have displayed superior athletic ability throughout their collegiate career.

“The purpose of the National Black College All Star Basketball Showcase is to expose them to both U.S. and International Scouts,” said McMath. “We want them to have every opportunity that is possibly available.”

Among the male players invited to the showcase are FAMU’s Terrence Woods, Tee Trotter of Maryland-Eastern Shore, Shaw’s Anthony Greenup, and Saint Augustine’s Desmond Peoples.

On the ladies’ side, Carolyn Hopkins of Prarie View A&M, Hampton’s Nicole Braithwaite, Johnson C. Smith’s Joi Surratt, and Yolanda Dixon from FAMU are scheduled to compete.

The All-Star Game coaches will include former NBA and HBCU players Rick Mahorn (Hampton University), Caldwell Jones (Albany State), Harold Ellis (Morehouse College), and National Basketball Developmental League (NBDL) assistant coach Stephanie Ready (Coppin State College).

MAY DAY GAME SET FOR CLEVELAND Following the success of the last year’s Ohio Classic football game, the Ohio Classic committee has announced the creation of a Black College All-Star Basketball Game scheduled for Saturday, May 1 at Gund Arena.

“The game, in conjunction with numerous community events, gives Clevelanders another opportunity to celebrate the city’s diversity and to show support for black colleges. We are also very excited about our new partnership with the Cavaliers/Gund Arena Company,” said John Pace, president of the Ohio Classic.

The All-Star Game, featuring the 20 top basketball players from HBCUs, will be the centerpiece of a four-day celebration in downtown Cleveland.

Several Hollywood entertainers and sports superstars are committed to being involved. The most notable celebrities confirmed so far include: Actress Vivica A. Fox (Kill Bill, Soul Food, Juwanna Mann, Two Can Play That Game) and Cleveland native Actress/Comedienne Kym Whitley (Next Friday and the former host of BET’s talk show “Oh Drama!”) both of whom have been named honorary co-chairs, for this inaugural event.

“The Cavaliers/Gund Arena Company is proud to host our first-ever Black College All-Star Basketball Game at Gund Arena”, said Cavaliers/Gund Arena Company CEO Mark Stornes. “We are especially happy to have established a partnership with the Ohio Classic organization to help make this important event a reality for all of northeast Ohio and the many people that will be positively impacted by it.”

Here is a look at the tentative roster of HBCU players scheduled to particpate: West All-Stars Cedrick Barrow, Morgan State; Jimmy Boykin, Coppin State; Anton Jennifer, Bowie State; Branden Joseph, Central State University; Chris Reid, Wilberforce University; Helie White, Wilberforce University; Reggie Winkfield, Morgan State.

East All-Stars Malcolm Campbell, Alabama State; Gerald Cannon, Morehouse College; Paul Haynes, Grambling State; Terry Horton, Alabama A&M; Eugene Jackson, Benedict College; Ishmael Joyce, Jackson State; Attarius Norwood, Mississippi Valley State; Dietrich Randle, Tuskegee University; Garrett Richardson, Tennessee State; Roderick Riley, Prairie View; Ronald Thompson, Morehouse College.