The Black College Baseball Awards Are In

By BASN Wire Services
Updated: October 16, 2007

swac swac swac swac swac swac swac swac swac NEW YORK, NY.— is proud to release its first Black College Baseball Awards. Candidates were taken from the nineteen Division-I programs which included the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference, Southwestern Athletic Conference, Chicago State of the Mid-Continent and Savannah State University, an Independent program. Coach of the Year Awards goes to Prairie View A&M head coach Michael Robertson.

In his second year at the helm, he’s guided the panthers into the Black College Baseball rankings and on the threshold of SWAC tournament play.

The Panthers improved leaped and bounds from a 2003 record of 10-45 to a 2004 record of 30-26.

Player of the Year awards goes to junior outfielder Bryant Lange of Jackson State University. Lange scorched pitchers with a .439 batting average while successfully stealing 29-of-31 bases. Lange also received SWAC Player of the Year and Outstanding Hitter honors.

Delaware State junior hurler Shawn Phillips left opponents frozen at the plate. He carried an 8-2 record with a 2.19 ERA over the season. In 94.2 innings pitched, Phillilps has only walked 11 while striking out 92.

For the men and women behind the scenes that usually receive no recognition, Sports Information Directors and their baseball contacts are the ones that get the information out. Stan Bradley of Maryland Eastern Shore kept the press releases hot every game, won or lost, within two hours of the end of game. He has made a commitment in doing his job well, which is even more impressive when he’s the only SID for the university.

The Black College Baseball Elite Teams are comprised of athletes from the MEAC and SWAC. Bethune Cookman landed 6 players on the squad, Prairie View A&M 4, Jackson State 3, Mississippi Valley 3, Norfolk State 2, Coppin State 2, Delaware State 2, North Carolina A&T 2, Southern 2, Alcorn State 1, Grambling State 1.

COACH OF THE YEAR Michael Robertson, Prairie View A&M PLAYER OF THE YEAR Bryant Lange, OF, Jackson State PITCHER OF THE YEAR Shawn Phillips, RHP, Delaware State SPORT INFORMATION DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR Stan Bradley, Maryland Eastern Shore First Team Position Players 1B, Juan Figueroa, Bethune Cookman College 2B, Juan Serrano, Norfolk State University 3B, Carlos Garcia, Bethune Cookman College SS, Justin Riggs, Coppin State University C, Ralph Johnson, Jackson State University OF, Bryant Lange, Jackson State University OF, Sebastian Boucher, Bethune Cookman College OF, Stephen Washington, Prairie View A&M University First Team Pitchers SP, Francisco Gomez, Bethune Cookman College SP, Shawn Phillips, Delaware State University SP, Michael Hauff, North Carolina A&T University SP, Jose Pena, Southern University RP, Nick Bitter, Delaware State University RP, A.J. Corbin, Norfolk State University Second Team Position Players 1B, Byron Carter, Prairie View A&M University 2B, Corey Wimberley, Alcorn State University 3B, Andrew Toussaint, Southern University SS, Jermel Lomack, Prairie View A&M University C, Edgar Wilson, Coppin State University OF, James Cooper, Grambling State University OF, Roberto Rodriguez, Bethune Cookman College OF, Gerald Miller, Prairie View A&M University Second Team Pitchers SP, Jarred Vaughn, Jackson State University SP, Ian Digiorgio, North Carolina A&T University SP, Jermaine Shack, Mississippi Valley State Univ.

SP, Steve Acuna, Mississippi Valley State Univ.

RP, Colin Irvine, Bethune Cookman College RP, Andrew Cunha, Mississippi Valley State Univ.