PGA Minority Championship To Host Largest Field

By Off The BASN Sports Wire
Updated: April 14, 2007

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. — The 21st PGA National Minority Collegiate Golf Championship is set to host the largest field in the history of the event. The tournament, scheduled to have 38 competing teams, will be held at Port Saint Lucie, Florida, May 11 through May 13, 2007.

The 54-hole stroke-play championship will consist of four divisions: NCAA Men’s Division I and II, and the NAIA Men’s and Women’s. Fayetteville State University of the CIAA, the defending 2006 national champions and Ian Milne the 2006 PGA Minority Individual Champion, will compete in the NCAA Men’s Division II with nine other colleges and universities.

“The PGA of America is pleased to host the PGA Minority Collegiate Golf Championship again this year and showcase some outstanding players from America’ minority serving universities,” said Joe Steranka, PGA of America Chief Executive Officer.

“This championship also helps us cultivate relationship with those contestants who desire a career in golf, including one as a PGA Professional. This is an integral part of our association’s mission to reach out to people of color and include them in the game and business of golf.”

The PGA Minority Golf Championship will be contested on the Ryder and Wanamaker Course at the PGA Golf Club and feature more than 180 athletes, an increase that is above 50 competitors from last year’s event

Among the other schools accepted into the NCAA Division II Division of the 2007 PGA National Minority Collegiate Golf Championship are: Johnson C. Smith University; Kentucky State University; Lincoln University; Morehouse College; North Carolina Central University; Paine College; Saint Augustine’s College and Virginia State University.

The first Championship was contested on May 17-19, 1987, at the Highland Park Golf Course in Cleveland, Ohio, under the direction of the National Negro Golfers’ Association.

The National Minority College Golf Scholarship Fund was later established to operate this Championship and to provide financial support to the participating colleges.