Ex-NFL Stars Kapp, Powell & Sistrunk To Be Honored By African-American Ethnic Sports Hall of Fame

By Off The BASN Sports Wire
Updated: December 21, 2006

OAKLAND, Ca. — The African American Ethnic Sports Hall of Fame dedicated to honoring black and other ethnic sports legends will induct Joe Kapp, a well-known and highly respected personality in the United States , Canada and the Bay Area.

The special event will take place on Friday, February 9, 2007 at the Temple Hill Theater located at 4780 Lincoln Avenue , Oakland , California .

The black-tie optional event will begin with a “VIP Reception with the Stars” at 6 p.m., followed by dinner at 7 p.m. and the induction ceremony at 8 p.m. in the Theater.

Former Oakland Raiders Art Powell and Otis Sistrunk will also be enshrined. Other inductees include Orlando Cepeda (Baseball), Diego Sequi (Baseball), Eric Wright (Football), Debi Gore-Mann (Basketball), Regina Jacobs (Track & Field), and Eddie Hart (Track & Field).

Kapp, who led the Minnesota Vikings to their first-ever divisional title playoff game in 1968, the following year guided the Vikings to Super Bowl IV against the Kansas City Chiefs.

In 1964, Kapp led the CFL British Columbia Lions to their first Grey Cup win, and earned a spot in the CFL Hall of Fame.

He is the only player to quarterback in an NFL Super Bowl, CFL Grey Cup and NCAA Rose Bowl games. He’s also the last quarterback to throw seven touchdown passes in an NFL game.

In 1963, Art Powell came to the Raiders and helped turn everything around. Al Davis had just become the team’s head coach and after three disastrous seasons the Raiders all-time record stood at 9-33.

With a healthy quarterback in Tom Flores, a solid runner in Clem Daniels and the All-Star receiver in Powell helped the team make history.

The Raiders record stood at 1-13 in 1962, but in 1963 the Raiders posted 10-4 record which is one of the more remarkable turnarounds in pro football history.

Art Powell, noted as the ultimate receiver, had size, speed and ability to make huge plays all over the field. In 1963, Powell scored 16 touchdowns and caught 73 passes for 1394 yards.

During the ceremony, three corporate leaders will be honored with “Sense of Community Awards”. Awardees include Willie Natt of Wells Fargo, Henry Fore of Comcast and Tom Guarino of PG&E.

Sande French, a tennis official pioneer, will be honored along with Jackie Thompson of Southwest Airlines.

The event allows us to recapture, remember and honor some of the greatest athletes ever who have become living legends. Such athletes have a rich history worth telling, one that reflects commitment, determination and dignity. The AAESHOF is a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization, and is dedicated to the development of opportunities for young, less fortunate people to gain exposure to positive aspects of life.

The event is the Hall of Fame’s major scholarship fund-raiser for students to attend colleges and universities. It helps students from economically challenged backgrounds fund their education through our “Academia Achievers Award Program”.

Negotiations are in the process for televising the event. It will be video taped and streamed onto the Internet by The WorldSportsNet.com.

National, International and local print media, television and radio will be represented and interviews will be conducted on a regular basis, prior to and after the event.

The event is sponsored in part by Southwest Airlines, Wells Fargo Bank, Comcast, PG&E, and Outback Steakhouse.

NOTE: Tickets can be purchased online at http://www.afrosportshall.com or contact Paula Welsh at Welsh Marketing at 510-482-9606 (paulawelsh@pacbell.net) or Arif Khatib (afrosportshall@aol.com) at 510-508-3309.