Albany State Tabbed By SIAC Coaches To Repeat As League Champions

By Off The BASN Sports Wire
Updated: July 27, 2006

TUCKER, Ga. — Defending champion Albany State was chosen as the favorite for the SIAC title by the league’s coaches at the conference’s kickoff luncheon Thursday afternoon.

The Golden Rams received eight of nine first-place votes. They were followed by Tuskegee University, Fort Valley State University, Kentucky State University and Miles College.

The league also announced its 2006 Preseason All Conference Football Team along with their preseason candidates for Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year.

Highlighting the list is the 2005 Offensive Player of the Year and SIAC MVP Kevin Huff of Tuskegee University and also the 2005 Defensive Player of the Year Alton Pettway of Albany State University.

Huff, a senior QB for the Golden Tigers will lead a list of seven Golden Tigers named to the list including four who were named to the 1st team.

Albany State University and Benedict College also lead the conference with seven players named to the All Conference Team (each with three named to the 1st team).

Fort Valley State University and Lane College (five 1st team selections) finished a close second with six players named to the list.

The preseason first team offense is comprised of nine returning players including Jeffrey Nobles (SR/RB, Benedict), Terrin Usher (SR/RB, Clark Atlanta), the receiving tandem from Lane College, Ed Williams, (SR/WR), Jacoby Jones (SR/WR), and Tight End Marcus Moore (SR).

The offensive line is filled with Morehouse Men including Claiborne Green (SR) and Bryant Ervin (SR). The rest of the line is comprised of Albany State Battering Rams Michael Livingston (SR) and Michael Myles (SR). Rounding out the offensive line is Joe Kegler of Fort Valley State.

For the defense, the 2005 Defensive Player of the Year, Alton Pettway heads a list of nine returning players as well, including Jeff Nweke (SR/DL, Ft. Valley St.), and Atron Jackson (SR/DL, Tuskegee).

The linebacker crew is comprised of all returning players led by Titus Curry (SR, Benedict) and Michael Porter (JR, Clark Atlanta) along with Jasman Necence (SR, Miles) who combined for 262 tackles last season.

Rounding out the defensive returning players at the defensive back position is Johnny Eubanks, (JR, MHC), Lee Smith (SR, Tuskegee) and Junior Taliauli (SR, Fort Valley State).

Red Shirt Junior Carl Spellman from Benedict College was also named to the list of defensive backs. Jacoby Jones (KR/PR, Lane) Roosevelt Echeverry (PK, Tuskegee) and Brandon Larkin (PU, Clark Atlanta) complete the first team.

The second team offense is comprised of impact players including Charles McCullum (JR/QB, Stillman), Brian Knighton (SR/RB, Ft. Valley), Richard Fitzhugh (SR/RB, Tuskegee) and Virgil Union (JR/WR, Lane).

For the defense, impact players include Abraham Jackson (JR/DL Kentucky State), Albert Booker (SR/LB Tuskegee), Marcus Jefferson (SR/DB Albany State University) and also Denatay Heard (JR/DB, Stillman).

Richard Siders, Martin Degazon, and Sean Reck are also notable returning players from the 2005 All Conference Team.

A complete listing of the SIAC Predicted Order of Finish and 2006 Preseason All Conference teams can also be found at