By L.A. Batchelor
Updated: March 8, 2005

Winston Salem – The Winston-Salem State University Rams didn’t accomplish their goal of winning the CIAA Men’s Tournament but their second season continues. The Rams were one of 41 teams that received an at-large bid to the 2005 NCAA Division II Men’s Basketball Championship and join 23 teams that received automatic bids to comprise the national field of 64 teams vying for the 2005 national championship.

WSSU will be the six-seed in the South Atlantic Region and will have a tough game ahead of them as they face the #3 seed Spartans of USC-Upstate Saturday in a game that will take place at Bowie State University in Bowie, MD. Tip-off time has yet to be determined.

Seven of the regional tournaments, consisting of eight teams each, will be conducted March 12th, 13th, and 15th at regional sites. The regional will be conducted March 11th, 12th and 14th. The eight quarterfinalists will advance to the finals at Ralph Englestad Arena in Grand Forks, North Dakota on March 23rd, 24th, and 26th.

Those institutions receiving at-large berths are, in alphabetical order, as follows: Adelphi Alderson-Broaddus Barry Bentley Bowie State Brigham Young-Hawaii Bryant Cal State Chico Cal State San Bernardino Catawba Central Arkansas Central Oklahoma Eckerd Ferris State Florida Gulf Coast Fort Lewis Gannon Indiana (Pennsylvania) Indianapolis Kennesaw State Millersville Minnesota State-Mankato Nebraska-Kearney Nebraska-Omaha Pittsburg State Quincy Salem International Seattle Pacific South Carolina-Upstate Southern Illinois Edwardsville Southern New Hampshire Southwestern Oklahoma State St. Rose Tarleton State Washburn Wayne State (Michigan) West Georgia Western Washington Winona State Winston-Salem State Kennesaw State defeated Southern Indiana 84-59 to win the 2004 NCAA Division II Men’s Elite Eight in Bakersfield, California.

The 49th annual championship game will be broadcast live on CBS at Noon Central time (1 p.m. Eastern).